Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Founders of WLA

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, February 16, 2016 in WLA 125
The following individuals were either instrumental in supporting the idea of a state library association for Wisconsin and/or attended the organizational meeting for the Wisconsin Library Association on February 11, 1891 in the Office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.
From the State Superintendent’s Office:
Oliver E. Wells, State Superintendent
Charles A. Hutchins, Assistant State Superintendent
Frank A. Hutchins, Township Library Clerk
From the University of Wisconsin:
Walter M. Smith, University Librarian
E. A. Birge, Professor of Zoology 
(also member of the Madison Public Library Board of Trustees)
John C. Freeman, Professor of Literature
From the State Historical Society:
Isaac S. Bradley, Librarian
From the Milwaukee Public Library:
Theresa West Elmendorf, Assistant Librarian
Minnie M. Oakley, Librarian, Madison Public Library
Lorenzo D. Harvey, President of the Wisconsin Teacher’s Association
Albert O. Wright, Secretary of the State Board of Charities and Reform


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Friday, November 24, 2017


Popular Tags

library exhibit Hall of Fame 2014 I Love Libraries Buttons caly film Inform Wisconsin Brown County Library Events Klaus Linderfelt Campaign Events & Meetings Postcards Parcel post Milwaukee Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum John Miller Chancellor 23 Amer Cooperative Children's Book Center Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Rusk County Community Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Publications Jerome P. Daniels WLA 125 School libraries Beaver Dam Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Bernard Schwab Elroy Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2009 Lutie Stearns library education trav caly film campa Public libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide American Library Association Library War Service Pinback buttons Irene W. Newman Postcards Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Evansville Wisconsin Historical Register Hall of Fame 2012 Library Buidlings Ruth Ann Montgomery Gilbert H. Doane Cornelia Marving Pierce Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Anniversaries Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Postcards Hall of Fame 2015 bookworm Richard E. Krug Appleton Public Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin UW-Milwaukee Libraries Madison Public Library campaign People Ice Storm cam Cam Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2012 14 membership libraries presentations WHCLIS 20 Wisconsin Rapids Frank Avery Hutchins Library people Eratus Swift Wilcox Soughton Public Library anniversaries Hall of Fame 2013 campaign Hall of Fame 2010 American Library Association Council on Library and Network Development J. D. Witter James Huff Stout Gertrude Thurow Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Woman's Congress COLAND Postcards Dorothea M. Krause ca hall of Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Matthew S. Dudgeon National Library Week Lutie Eugenia Stearns Carl Spitzweg Beloit Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Bookmobiles WAAL Eager Free Public Library books-by-mail Clarence Brown Lester Special libraries Library Systems Hartford Public Library Black River Falls Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Suring Area Public Library campaign Library Trustees Events & Meetings Wisconsin Historical Society WLA 125 Delia Ovitz S. Janice Kee UW-Madison school of library and information studies background John J. Jax Library celebrations Portage Public Library 22 Hall of Fame 2015 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Campaign Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 11 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Library e Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Capitol Fire 1904 Manitowoc Public Library 24 Sarah Janice Kee Exhibits 28 National Bookmobile Day Anniversaries Katharine MacDonald Jones Wayne A. Wiegand Clinton Public Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Public libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library History William J. Wilson 27 state historical society Library Buildings WWI Library War Service Carnegie libraries caly film Public library systems Peter G. Hamon Larry T. Nix Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Middleton Public Library traveling libraries Charles Bunge Zona Gale 10 Academic Libraries Academic Librarians 21 WLA 125 James Duane Doty archives Uncategorized buil Louise S. Robbins School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2012 Ruby Roeder Black River Falls Meter mail slogans bed and breakfast library memorabilia Gerald A. Somers Marketing-Publicity Centennial CCBC Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2015 Pewaukee Public Library Ripon Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Oshkosh Public Library Digital Collections State Law Library Library People World War I library legislation Nolan I. Neds Jane K. Billings Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2008

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo