Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Former De Pere Public Library

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, January 20, 2010 in Library buildings


Thanks to Paul Nelson's Retiring Guy's Digest Blog I recently became aware of a story in the Green Bay Press Gazette about the former De Pere Public Library building. I have a postcard of the building which is shown above. I found out more about the building and its history from a survey of Wisconsin's historic public libraries which was conducted by the Wisconsin Historical Society in 1999. According to the survey the building was designed by the Green Bay architectural firm of Foeller, Schober, and Berners and was erected in 1936 but because of some delays it wasn't opened until 1937. The building is described as a one-story Colonial Revival building that is C-shaped in plan, wrapping around a courtyard garden. It is finished with random, coursed limestone. Below is more about the historic timeline for the De Pere library. The source for some of this information is a paper by Michael C. Vande Hei written in 1985 and entitled "History of the De Pere Public Library 1896-1968".

Public library service in De Pere, Wisconsin dates back to 1878 when a public library was established in the Congregational Church by Reverend E. P. Salmon. In 1889 a public library board was organized to oversee the Salmon collection. The City of De Pere acquired the collection in 1896. In 1937 the public library opened in a new building which was partially funded by the Public Works Administration, a federal program. An addition was added to the building in 1963. In 1968 the De Pere Public Library became part of the newly created Brown County Library. The 1937 building was closed in 2003 and the library was moved to the new Kress Family Branch Library.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Popular Tags

bookworm Hall of Fame 2018 Hartford Public Library Suring Area Public Library Library Buildings Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 28 Beaver Dam Public Library archives Jerome P. Daniels Ruby Roeder Madison Public Library Events & Meetings Parcel post 27 Public libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Lutie Stearns McMillan Memorial Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Cam Woman's Congress Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2015 Manitowoc Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand background library memorabilia Eager Free Public Library WLA 125 Peter G. Hamon Hall of Fame 2012 Events Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries caly film COLAND William J. Wilson caly film Carl Spitzweg Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter Rusk County Community Library Helen Adams Capitol Fire 1904 Anniversaries 23 Tower Hill Wisconsin library legislation Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2012 School libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Appleton Public Library trav Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Sandra Friedman Dolnick Ice Storm Katharine MacDonald Jones Bookmobiles Campaign Pewaukee Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library celebrations campa Bernard Schwab Clarence Brown Lester Hall fo Fame 2012 Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Free Library Commission CCBC Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2008 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Gerald A. Somers Klaus Linderfelt Council on Library and Network Development Uncategorized library exhibit Library Buidlings Beloit Public Library Bob Bochfer Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Oshkosh Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2015 Pinback buttons Richard E. Krug Postcards UW-Milwaukee Libraries Anniversaries WLA 125 Public library systems 24 presentations Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2017 Edward Asahel Birge Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends library education Louise S. Robbins Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Portage Public Library Centennial Publications Library People Gertrude Thurow Library Systems Hall of Fame 2010 Cooperative Children's Book Center Middleton Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies ca Superior Carnegie Libraries National Library Week caly film Wisconsin Free Library Commission American Library Association campaign WAAL Black River Falls Inform Wisconsin Meter mail slogans Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 11 Buttons Larry T. Nix cam Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Black River Falls Public Library Amer I Love Libraries Sarah Janice Kee 14 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2018 Public libraries Library History White House Conference on Library and Information Services Elroy Public Library Historical Register State Law Library Exhibits James Duane Doty Library Artifacts traveling libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee School of Library and Information Studies Events & Meetings Wisconsin State Law Library People Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin Library Bulletin American Library Association Library War Service Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2012 bed and breakfast Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Milwaukee Art Museum 21 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Orrilla Blackshear John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2009 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Postcards Brown Deer Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Digital Collections Wisconsin Library Association World War I Special libraries campaign anniversaries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 WLA 125 22 WHCLIS WWI Library War Service Library e Charles Bunge Campaign Brown Deer Public Library Academic Libraries membership libraries Library Trustees books-by-mail Matthew S. Dudgeon John Miller Chancellor Postcards state historical society Zona Gale Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Hall of Fame 2014 Brown County Library 20 Hall Gilbert H. Doane Library people Postcards Jane K. Billings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Historical Society James Huff Stout Ripon Public Library buil Campaign Evansville Wisconsin Irene W. Newman Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Lucy E. Smith Morris hall of Wisconsin Rapids 10 Lowell W. Wilson Robert Bocher

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo