Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52

Fennimore's Public Library

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, January 22, 2010 in Library buildings




On a recent trip I stopped in at both the Southwest Wisconsin Library System and the Dwight T. Parker Public Library in Fennimore, Wisconsin. The Public Library is housed in a building which is on the National Register of Historic Places . It was constructed in 1923 and was designed by the architectural firm of Claude & Starck which designed many of Wisconsin's public libraries. The style of the building is impressive and is described as follows by the Wisconsin Historical Society: "The structure incorporates Mediterranean and NeoClassical elements into a rectangular mass reminiscent of their Prairie School designs. Large brackets support the wide overhanging eaves of the clay tile roof. A central NeoClassical entrance projects from the front façade. Terracotta details such as a pediment, colonettes, arches, and bracketed sills accent the simple brick motif." The building was built through the generosity of Dwight T. Parker, a prominent local leader and banker. Parker later left a trust fund to help fund the library also. It is unusual that the library which is 87 years old does not have an addition. If you're ever passing through Fennimore it is well worth a stop. While at the SWLS I was able to pick up a few "no longer in use" library artifacts, and was able to witness the demise of their card catalog from which I salvage a few catalog cards. The SWLS celebrated its 50th anniversary last year.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, June 27, 2019


Popular Tags

Soughton Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Irene W. Newman Eratus Swift Wilcox Academic Librarians 10 WLA 125 John Miller Chancellor Library Buildings Postcards Hall of Fame 2016 John J. Jax Brown Deer Public Library Pinback buttons 27 State Law Library WAAL Bob Bochfer People membership libraries Lucy E. Smith Morris Hall of Fame 2008 Richard E. Krug campaign J. D. Witter Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Milwaukee Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Gilbert H. Doane 23 Hall of Fame 2018 Klaus Linderfelt library exhibit Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign caly film Helen Adams 22 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2011 Edward Asahel Birge Hall fo Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries 14 Delia Ovitz cam Bookmobiles Amer American Library Association Wisconsin State Law Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg 11 caly film Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries School libraries Frank Avery Hutchins presentations Suring Area Public Library Lowell W. Wilson Pewaukee Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Gertrude Thurow hall of WLA 125 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Events Public libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Marketing-Publicity 21 Robert Bocher Sarah Janice Kee School of Library and Information Studies library education Milwaukee Art Museum Anniversaries Exhibits Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Gerald A. Somers Academic Libraries Beloit Public Library Buttons Meter mail slogans S. Janice Kee Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Capitol Fire 1904 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Hall of Fame 2017 Madison Public Library Historical Register Milwaukee Public Library National Bookmobile Day campa Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Council on Library and Network Development Jane K. Billings Charles Bunge WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Association McMillan Memorial Library bookworm Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2015 James Huff Stout Manitowoc Public Library Hartford Public Library Elroy Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Library Systems Black River Falls Public Library Bernard Schwab Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Dianne McAfee Hopkins Cooperative Children's Book Center Clinton Public Library Appleton Public Library campaign caly film Uncategorized Library e Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies archives Library People Events & Meetings Ruth Ann Montgomery Wisconsin Free Library Commission Nolan I. Neds Lutie Eugenia Stearns Public libraries Library people Oshkosh Public Library Peter G. Hamon Wisconsin Rapids Evansville Wisconsin traveling libraries Centennial Katharine MacDonald Jones Tower Hill Wisconsin buil Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Publications Increase A. Lapham WWI Library War Service Library History Ruby Roeder Hall Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Special libraries state historical society Carl Spitzweg Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Middleton Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2014 anniversaries Library Artifacts library memorabilia WHCLIS James Duane Doty Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2012 bed and breakfast Parcel post Ripon Public Library Public library systems Wisconsin Library Bulletin 20 24 Superior Carnegie Libraries National Library Week DeForest Area Public Library Library people Postcards Library celebrations Campaign Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2010 Larry T. Nix Events & Meetings Library Trustees Ice Storm Orrilla Blackshear Campaign books-by-mail American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2013 Lutie Stearns Portage Public Library background trav Hall of Fame 2012 Carnegie libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Clarence Brown Lester I Love Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 CCBC Brown County Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2015 library legislation UW-Madison school of library and information studies ca Cam COLAND Eager Free Public Library Inform Wisconsin campaign William J. Wilson Digital Collections Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Rusk County Community Library World War I Hall of Fame 2012 WLA 125 28 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library Buidlings

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo