Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Evansville History Book Published

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 10, 2009 in Publications

Congratulations to WLHC Steering Committee member Ruth Ann Montgomery on the publication of her new book on the history of Evansville, Wisconsin. The book is part of the Images of America series published by Arcadia Publishing. Ruth Ann is Director of the Arrowhead Library System in Janesville and is a longtime Evansville historian. Many of the images in the book are from her personal collection assembled over many years. Ruth Ann also has also written a history of the Eager Free Library Public Library which is on the web. The Janesville Gazette has written an article about Ruth Ann and the publication of the book.




Gordon Glass Thursday, October 01, 2009

Congratulations to Ruth Ann for her new book. Ruth, I am proud to say is a high school classmate an an old friend of mine.

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, February 21, 2018


Popular Tags

Capitol Fire 1904 anniversaries William J. Wilson Jane K. Billings 22 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Dorothea M. Krause McMillan Memorial Library Marketing-Publicity library memorabilia Cornelia Marving Pierce Brown Deer Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Buttons state historical society library legislation traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2008 presentations Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Rapids WLA 125 Uncategorized John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2011 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown County Library campa Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library celebrations Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services World War I Wisconsin Free Library Commission WWI Library War Service 21 trav Nolan I. Neds Library people Louise S. Robbins S. Janice Kee Frank Avery Hutchins Irene W. Newman Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2009 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Madison Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Peter G. Hamon Council on Library and Network Development Campaign Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2015 Gilbert H. Doane 24 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Soughton Public Library Eager Free Public Library Postcards 23 archives Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Free Library Commission Digital Collections Hartford Public Library Publications Public libraries 28 Brown Deer Public Library campaign Events Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Association bed and breakfast Library Artifacts Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2013 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Manitowoc Public Library Library History Hall fo Fame 2012 Bookmobiles National Bookmobile Day 14 Cam State Law Library hall of membership libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Academic Librarians caly film 11 Evansville Wisconsin WHCLIS Oshkosh Public Library background Library Buildings Gertrude Thurow Woman's Congress library exhibit Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week Sarah Janice Kee Pewaukee Public Library Larry T. Nix Black River Falls Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Historical Society Bernard Schwab Campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Carnegie libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Pinback buttons Zona Gale Historical Register Amer Academic Libraries Charles Bunge Black River Falls Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Rusk County Community Library Delia Ovitz John Miller Chancellor Library people Postcards Meter mail slogans Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2015 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Beloit Public Library 10 Increase A. Lapham Library e Edward Asahel Birge Inform Wisconsin Library Buidlings Events & Meetings Lutie Eugenia Stearns Orrilla Blackshear Ripon Public Library books-by-mail Special libraries caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall UW-Madison school of library and information studies Library Systems ca Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2014 Anniversaries Gerald A. Somers Katharine MacDonald Jones People Exhibits Cooperative Children's Book Center DeForest Area Public Library cam WLA 125 James Duane Doty Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 T. B. Scott Free Public Library COLAND Appleton Public Library Richard E. Krug Ruth Ann Montgomery Postcards Dianne McAfee Hopkins Clinton Public Library Clarence Brown Lester WAAL Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 campaign Anniversaries Lowell W. Wilson James Huff Stout Carl Spitzweg buil Milwaukee Public Library caly film Public library systems Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Elroy Public Library Portage Public Library School of Library and Information Studies Eratus Swift Wilcox bookworm Wisconsin Library Bulletin Centennial 20 Public libraries Parcel post 27 library education Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Ruby Roeder Wisconsin State Law Library WLA 125 Klaus Linderfelt campaign American Library Association Library War Service I Love Libraries Library Trustees American Library Association Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library People Wayne A. Wiegand J. D. Witter WLA 125 Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign CCBC UW-Milwaukee Libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries School libraries Hall of Fame 2015

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo