Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Evansville Celebrates a Centennial

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 04, 2008 in Library buildings

A personalized stamp depicting the Eager Free Library in Evansville








The Eager Free Library in Evansville is one of several Wisconsin libraries celebrating significant anniversaries this year.  The building in which the Eager Free Library is housed is one hundred years old this year.  The architect for the building was the architectural firm of Claude and Starck which was responsible for the design of nearly forty libraries in the Midwest. The library's design was the first Prairie School design by Claude and Starck. Local merchant Almeron Eager bequeathed $10,000 for the contstruction of the building in 1902.  When finally completed in 1908 the cost was $16,000.  Ruth Ann Montgomery, a member of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Steering Committee, has written a history of the library for its centennial.

Other Wisconsin libraries celebrating anniversaries include the Milwaukee Public Library which is celebrating the the 130th anniversary of its founding and the 110 anniversary of its building; the Bloomington Public Library which is celebrating its centennial, the Black Earth Public Library which is celebrating its centennial; and the Independence Public Library which is also celebrating its centennial.

Tips of celebrating anniversaries can be found here.

Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, October 22, 2019


Popular Tags

Library Artifacts library memorabilia People WLA 125 Anniversaries Anniversaries hall of Public libraries Sarah Janice Kee 21 Events Academic Librarians Library celebrations J. D. Witter Wisconsin Historical Society library education Woman's Congress Events & Meetings Portage Public Library Black River Falls Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Matthew S. Dudgeon Milwaukee Art Museum ca Library people Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Campaign Lowell W. Wilson Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign Library People Hall of Fame 2008 Library Trustees Louise S. Robbins Delia Ovitz Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Library Bulletin Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Postcards WLA 125 Historical Register Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends trav Richard E. Krug WLA 125 Eager Free Public Library 28 Larry T. Nix Pinback buttons Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Middleton Public Library Clinton Public Library state historical society Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Centennial UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2016 American Library Association Library War Service Campaign WHCLIS Hall of Fame 2012 22 20 Hartford Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox Madison Public Library Rusk County Community Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends James Huff Stout John Miller Chancellor Wisconsin Library Association library legislation Bob Bochfer Publications Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Exhibits Peter G. Hamon Jerome P. Daniels Orrilla Blackshear background National Bookmobile Day Increase A. Lapham Wisconsin Free Library Commission Cam Hall of Fame 2018 Postcards Hall of Fame 2012 Public library systems Postcards School libraries Marjorie Sornson Malmberg WLA 125 Appleton Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Library people Oshkosh Public Library Black River Falls anniversaries Gerald A. Somers 27 Uncategorized presentations Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2018 Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee John J. Jax Library e Sandra Friedman Dolnick Bookmobiles Ruby Roeder 23 Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs 10 archives Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Klaus Linderfelt Pewaukee Public Library Brown County Library Suring Area Public Library Academic Libraries WAAL books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2014 McMillan Memorial Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Inform Wisconsin Public libraries Helen Adams Cornelia Marving Pierce School of Library and Information Studies Library Buildings library exhibit Hall of Fame 2010 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Library History Carl Spitzweg Dorothea M. Krause Special libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall Robert Bocher 14 Hall of Fame 2009 World War I Brown Deer Public Library William J. Wilson campaign American Library Association Milwaukee Public Library Elroy Public Library James Duane Doty WWI Library War Service Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Gertrude Thurow Jane K. Billings Zona Gale Amer COLAND Hall of Fame 2013 Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries I Love Libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries campaign bed and breakfast Gilbert H. Doane caly film traveling libraries Parcel post 24 Nolan I. Neds White House Conference on Library and Information Services 11 Meter mail slogans National Library Week membership libraries Lucy E. Smith Morris Wisconsin Rapids cam caly film Lutie Eugenia Stearns Clarence Brown Lester caly film Carnegie libraries Buttons Lutie Stearns Milwaukee Public Library Events & Meetings campaign UW-Madison school of library and information studies UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 Digital Collections DeForest Area Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Frank Avery Hutchins Manitowoc Public Library Library Buidlings Marketing-Publicity Library Systems CCBC Hall of Fame 2011 Charles Bunge Ice Storm buil Hall of Fame 2015 S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2015 Ripon Public Library Bernard Schwab Dianne McAfee Hopkins State Law Library campa Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Soughton Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Evansville Wisconsin

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo