Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Ella T. Veslak (1897-1996)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 17, 2011 in Hall of Fame

veslak-small.jpgElla T. Veslak is one of seven individuals who will be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 3, 2011 at the Awards and Honors Banquet during the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Milwaukee. Veslak was a leader in the development of county library service in Wisconsin. She began serving as Director of the Shawano Public Library in 1926 and served simultaneously as Director of the Shawano County Library starting in 1934. She was a proponent of bookmobile service and participated in the first federal demonstration of bookmobile service in Wisconsin. She was a strong advocate of the role of the public library in adult education. In 1939 Veslak was presented with the Theodora Youmans Citizenship Award of the Wisconsin Federation of Women’s Clubs for her service in uniquely combining local, county and federal resources in providing library service to rural people. She served as a citizen member of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission 1946-1948. According to Benton H. Wilcox, Veslak was one of the most respected members of WLA when she was appointed to the WFLC. She became a staff member of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission in 1948. She received the Citation of Merit from the Wisconsin Library Association in 1960. She received the 1967 Honorary Recognition Award from UW College of Agriculture & Life Sciences which honors individuals who have demonstrated outstanding leadership and made significant contributions in the areas of agriculture, life sciences, natural resources and social science. 

Comment disabled by author.


Popular Tags

Brown Deer Public Library 27 campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Irene W. Newman Library Artifacts Pewaukee Public Library Elroy Public Library Portage Public Library James Huff Stout Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library trav Frank Avery Hutchins Public libraries Delia Ovitz library exhibit Centennial COLAND School libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2014 Campaign Pinback buttons Milwaukee Art Museum Orrilla Blackshear Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Postcards Cornelia Marving Pierce Ruth Ann Montgomery Evansville Wisconsin library legislation White House Conference on Library and Information Services Black River Falls Public Library library education Jerome P. Daniels State Law Library Historical Register Gertrude Thurow Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Manitowoc Public Library Academic Librarians Uncategorized Library People Postcards Appleton Public Library Parcel post Milwaukee Public Library Gerald A. Somers Cam UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Events & Meetings Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 archives Black River Falls Library Systems 23 21 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Council on Library and Network Development Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services caly film Meter mail slogans Dianne McAfee Hopkins James Duane Doty World War I UW-Milwaukee Libraries Publications Beloit Public Library Amer Ripon Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Buttons Public library systems DeForest Area Public Library bookworm Carnegie libraries William J. Wilson Wayne A. Wiegand Sarah Janice Kee Marjorie Sornson Malmberg National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2009 WLA 125 WLA 125 Oshkosh Public Library Soughton Public Library campaign campa Clinton Public Library American Library Association Lutie Eugenia Stearns Anniversaries Library Trustees Library people caly film 24 Library people Postcards 20 WWI Library War Service I Love Libraries Wisconsin State Law Library WLA 125 Brown County Library Charles Bunge hall of John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2008 American Library Association Library War Service Postcards state historical society Middleton Public Library ca Wilbur Lyle Eberhart CCBC Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hartford Public Library Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2012 WLA 125 J. D. Witter Inform Wisconsin School of Library and Information Studies 14 Digital Collections Woman's Congress Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2013 28 Lutie Stearns Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall Nolan I. Neds Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2016 11 Clarence Brown Lester Wisconsin Historical Society Hall of Fame 2010 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2015 Rusk County Community Library books-by-mail anniversaries WHCLIS campaign Library celebrations Brown Deer Public Library traveling libraries Milwaukee Public Library Dorothea M. Krause T. B. Scott Free Public Library Public libraries background Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Library Association Campaign S. Janice Kee Edward Asahel Birge library memorabilia Bernard Schwab UW-Madison school of library and information studies Larry T. Nix Increase A. Lapham Library e bed and breakfast Events Events & Meetings Superior Carnegie Libraries Richard E. Krug Peter G. Hamon Capitol Fire 1904 buil Zona Gale Wisconsin Free Library Commission WAAL Madison Public Library Jane K. Billings Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2015 Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon 22 Carl Spitzweg Hall fo Fame 2012 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Rapids Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries membership libraries Library Buildings Marketing-Publicity caly film 10 Exhibits Special libraries Hall of Fame 2015 McMillan Memorial Library Beaver Dam Public Library presentations Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Library Week cam Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Library Buidlings People Klaus Linderfelt Library History Campaign

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo