Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Elizabeth Burr, 1908-1996

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, April 06, 2009 in Hall of Fame

photo-wi-burr-72.jpgElizabeth Burr was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2008. Burr retired in 1973 after 27 years as Public Library Consultant for Children's Services for the Wisconsin Division for Library Services and its predecessor the Wisconsin Free Library Commission.  She was a founder of the Cooperative Children's Book Center in 1963 and its director until her retirement.  She was the first recipient of the Wisconsin's Library Association's "Librarian of the Year" award.  In 1992, WLA established the annual Elizabeth Burr Award to be given to the Wisconsin author or illustrator of a distinguished book for children. She was selected for the National Advocacy Honor Roll by the American Library Association in 2000 for her contribution as an advocate for library services in the 20th century.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, February 17, 2020


Popular Tags

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Historical Register Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries traveling libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Exhibits Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Eratus Swift Wilcox 14 Hall of Fame 2012 Uncategorized Middleton Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Gertrude Thurow Zona Gale Lowell W. Wilson 23 Anniversaries Public library systems Bernard Schwab Nolan I. Neds Black River Falls Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies DeForest Area Public Library Beloit Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Academic Librarians Woman's Congress Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee John Miller Chancellor WHCLIS campaign 27 I Love Libraries Jerome P. Daniels WLA 125 Postcards Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2014 Capitol Fire 1904 Hall of Fame 2015 Library Systems Milwaukee Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2018 Evansville Wisconsin WLA 125 William J. Wilson Portage Public Library Campaign Dianne McAfee Hopkins archives James Huff Stout Orrilla Blackshear Charles Bunge Cooperative Children's Book Center CCBC Brown Deer Public Library Black River Falls Wisconsin Free Library Commission Buttons ca Clarence Brown Lester Bookmobiles J. D. Witter Postcards library exhibit Carl Spitzweg trav Special libraries campaign Beaver Dam Public Library Pewaukee Public Library American Library Association Events Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Rapids 11 anniversaries 10 Postcards School libraries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide White House Conference on Library and Information Services State Law Library Louise S. Robbins bed and breakfast caly film Events & Meetings Increase A. Lapham Dick Sorensen Ripon Public Library Irene W. Newman Centennial Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Association Soughton Public Library Madison Public Library Brown Deer Public Library 20 Suring Area Public Library Richard J. Sorensen UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies caly film Hall of Fame 2013 Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2011 Peter G. Hamon Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2009 Delia Ovitz WLA 125 Wisconsin Library Bulletin S. Janice Kee Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Robert Bocher Public libraries Hall Amer Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2008 Library People Wisconsin Library Heritage Center People Hall of Fame 2012 caly film McMillan Memorial Library Edward Asahel Birge Lutie Stearns Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Manitowoc Public Library Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2019 Cornelia Marving Pierce Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John J. Jax Hartford Public Library presentations Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2016 library education Bob Bochfer buil Parcel post Wisconsin Historical Society WLA 125 background Library people Postcards Library Buildings 28 School of Library and Information Studies Matthew S. Dudgeon Elroy Public Library James Duane Doty Academic Libraries Campaign COLAND bookworm Campaign Dick Sorensen Inform Wisconsin Lucy E. Smith Morris Marketing-Publicity National Library Week Wisconsin State Law Library Library people hall of Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2015 library legislation Milwaukee Art Museum National Bookmobile Day World War I 24 Clinton Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Frank Avery Hutchins campa Digital Collections Hall of Fame 2012 Tower Hill Wisconsin books-by-mail Appleton Public Library Ice Storm WWI Library War Service Rusk County Community Library Ruby Roeder Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Superior Carnegie Libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns cam WAAL Carnegie libraries state historical society Public libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries T. B. Scott Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Nancy Marshall Events & Meetings Brown County Library 22 Helen Adams Jane K. Billings Library History Hall of Fame 2017 Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Sandra Friedman Dolnick membership libraries Wayne A. Wiegand Council on Library and Network Development Library e Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2015 Publications 21 Hall of Fame 2018 Milwaukee Public Library Eager Free Public Library Larry T. Nix Pinback buttons Library Buidlings Library Trustees Wisconsin Free Library Commission Cam Sarah Janice Kee library memorabilia campaign Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo