Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

  • JUser: :_load: Unable to load user with id: 52

Edward Asahel Birge 1851-1950

Posted by
has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, December 31, 2008 in Hall of Fame

birge.jpgEdward Asahel Birge was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on November 6, 2008. Birge was one of a small group of people who gathered in the office of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction on February 11, 1891 to organize the Wisconsin Library Association.  At the time Birge was a noted Professor of Zoology at the University of Wisconsin and a member of the Madison Public Library Board.  He served on the Madison Public Library Board from 1891 to 1909 and was its chairman from 1893 to 1909.  He served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association from 1897 to 1899 and again in 1905-1906. He was a member of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission. He had a long and active career at the University of Wisconsin serving as Professor of Zoology (1879-1911), Dean of the College of Letters and Science (1891-1918), Acting President  (1900--1903), and President (1918- 1925).  He is listed in the  Dictionary of Wisconsin History.  Thanks to the University of Wisconsin-Madison Archives and Records Mangement Services for permission to use the image of Birge. 


Other links:



Note: In the comming months we will be featuring 2008 inductees to the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on the blog component of the the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center website. Not only will this provide more exposure to these exceptional people, it will enable us to deal with a technical difficulty in organizing our site. 



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, June 27, 2019


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Rapids Dianne McAfee Hopkins Inform Wisconsin National Bookmobile Day American Library Association Eratus Swift Wilcox Lowell W. Wilson library memorabilia Wisconsin Free Library Commission Pinback buttons Middleton Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2011 Library e 24 trav William J. Wilson Library History presentations Anniversaries 27 Jane K. Billings 28 WAAL Suring Area Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Special libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2012 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Louise S. Robbins Robert Bocher Sarah Janice Kee Amer Rusk County Community Library Public library systems Hall of Fame 2015 American Library Association Library War Service Events WLA 125 state historical society membership libraries Postcards J. D. Witter Postcards caly film Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2012 library exhibit buil Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2014 National Library Week John Miller Chancellor I Love Libraries Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends archives 14 School libraries Hall 21 Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign campaign caly film Hall of Fame 2015 anniversaries Elroy Public Library Library Buidlings Frank Avery Hutchins Portage Public Library bed and breakfast 22 Richard E. Krug Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2008 Digital Collections John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2015 Academic Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Milwaukee Public Library Black River Falls Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Madison Public Library WWI Library War Service traveling libraries Library Systems Soughton Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Ruby Roeder Library Buildings Oshkosh Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library WLA 125 Library Trustees Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2016 Bob Bochfer School of Library and Information Studies CCBC Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Meter mail slogans Cooperative Children's Book Center Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Pewaukee Public Library Woman's Congress Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 Lucy E. Smith Morris Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2018 bookworm McMillan Memorial Library Peter G. Hamon Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries ca Library people Postcards hall of Matthew S. Dudgeon UW-Milwaukee Libraries Helen Adams Public libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs COLAND library education campaign Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Uncategorized Capitol Fire 1904 James Duane Doty Beaver Dam Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Hartford Public Library Library people Beloit Public Library James Huff Stout Wisconsin Library Bulletin Gilbert H. Doane DeForest Area Public Library Library People Charles Bunge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ice Storm Publications background Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2010 Centennial Wayne A. Wiegand Black River Falls Public Library S. Janice Kee World War I caly film Delia Ovitz Larry T. Nix Brown County Library Campaign Lutie Stearns Exhibits WLA 125 Marketing-Publicity Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Eager Free Public Library Buttons Hall of Fame 2018 Events & Meetings Dorothea M. Krause Appleton Public Library Lutie Eugenia Stearns Bookmobiles Anniversaries Orrilla Blackshear Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall fo Fame 2012 Parcel post Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign Manitowoc Public Library campa 20 Hall of Fame 2013 Postcards Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2009 Cam Hall of Fame 2015 People Historical Register Public libraries Nolan I. Neds cam Katharine MacDonald Jones Brown Deer Public Library Jerome P. Daniels Gerald A. Somers Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 23 Wisconsin State Law Library Klaus Linderfelt Zona Gale Brown Deer Public Library library legislation 11 Gertrude Thurow Carnegie libraries Events & Meetings campaign books-by-mail Clarence Brown Lester Increase A. Lapham Library Artifacts Bernard Schwab WHCLIS State Law Library 10 Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2017

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo