Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Education for Librarianship in Wisconsin

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, July 29, 2016 in WLA 125
Education for librarianship in Wisconsin dates back to 1895 when the newly created Wisconsin Free Library Commission (WFLC) sponsored the first Summer School of Library Economy.  The summer school was the idea of Frank Hutchins, the Commission's first Secretary.  The school was personally financed by library legislative champion Senator James H. Stout and was directed by Katharine Sharp, director of the Library School of the Armour Institute in Chicago. A full time Wisconsin Library School, still under the auspices of the WFLC, was founded in 1906 and housed on the second floor of the Madison Public Library. Mary Emogene Hazeltine was its first Perceptor or Principal. She served in this capacity until 1938. In 1938 administrative control of the library school was moved from the WFLC to the University of Wisconsin. It is now the School of Library and Information Studies at UW-Madison and it is fully accredited by the American Library Association.  More on its history can be found HERE. A second library school was established at UW-Milwaukee in 1976. It is now the School of Information Studies and is accredited by the American Library Association. It is celebrating its 50th anniversary this year. 
The postcard above shows the second floor atrium of the Madison Public Library when it was located in the building financed by Andrew Carnegie, now razed.  It was here that the Wisconsin Library School was located from 1906 to 1938.  Carnegie gave additional funding to enable the library school to be located in the public library building. The message on the back of the postcard which was mailed in 1925 is from library school faculty member Winifred Davis to Mrs. N. A. Cushman, Librarian of the Reedsburg Public Library.  Davis invites Cushman to visit a library school exhibit at the University Exposition.


Kathleen Mance Monday, June 19, 2017

My Grandmother received a certificate from the Library School on June 20, 1932.

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, November 21, 2019


Popular Tags

Madison Public Library Dorothea M. Krause National Library Week Delia Ovitz Library Artifacts Library people Postcards Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum caly film Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public libraries Library History Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Cooperative Children's Book Center bed and breakfast UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Cornelia Marving Pierce School libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Marketing-Publicity Parcel post WLA 125 caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Historical Register campa Beaver Dam Public Library Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2017 Hall of Fame 2013 Suring Area Public Library Elroy Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Dick Sorensen Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick caly film J. D. Witter library memorabilia Beloit Public Library Postcards Lutie Stearns trav traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Library People Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2016 Frank Avery Hutchins WHCLIS Matthew S. Dudgeon Brown County Library Hall Gertrude Thurow Buttons Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2012 Public libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Brown Deer Public Library membership libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery William J. Wilson DeForest Area Public Library Louise S. Robbins Richard J. Sorensen Middleton Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart John Miller Chancellor Lutie Eugenia Stearns Carnegie libraries Public library systems UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Ripon Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Campaign UW-Madison school of library and information studies ca Publications WLA 125 11 Larry T. Nix Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2018 Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Events & Meetings Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2008 James Huff Stout Events library legislation WAAL Anniversaries White House Conference on Library and Information Services S. Janice Kee Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Gilbert H. Doane Milwaukee Public Library Dick Sorensen Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries buil American Library Association Black River Falls Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Richard E. Krug 27 Edward Asahel Birge Superior Carnegie Libraries Nancy Marshall campaign T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Black River Falls Pinback buttons World War I 14 Gerald A. Somers Inform Wisconsin 22 Hartford Public Library Clarence Brown Lester WLA 125 State Law Library campaign Special libraries campaign Exhibits Wisconsin Library Bulletin Rusk County Community Library Library people Peter G. Hamon library exhibit Academic Libraries archives Evansville Wisconsin 28 bookworm Campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2019 Wayne A. Wiegand Irene W. Newman anniversaries Library Buildings Library e Campaign Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2009 background Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2015 Academic Librarians Centennial Digital Collections Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Ruby Roeder Portage Public Library Library Buidlings Nolan I. Neds library education Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library CCBC Appleton Public Library Sarah Janice Kee WLA 125 Library Systems Wisconsin Free Library Commission Council on Library and Network Development Jane K. Billings hall of 21 24 People Helen Adams Postcards Dianne McAfee Hopkins Eager Free Public Library Charles Bunge Robert Bocher Pewaukee Public Library Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 Jerome P. Daniels American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2014 Ice Storm James Duane Doty Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Library Association Zona Gale 20 Library Trustees Amer McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Historical Society state historical society COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries cam Wisconsin Free Library Commission Bob Bochfer Katharine MacDonald Jones Carl Spitzweg Events & Meetings WWI Library War Service Uncategorized 10 Meter mail slogans Cam Lowell W. Wilson Bookmobiles I Love Libraries Woman's Congress Manitowoc Public Library 23 John J. Jax presentations Wisconsin Rapids National Bookmobile Day

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo