Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Eau Claire's Early Public Library Buildings

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, April 25, 2010 in Carnegie libraries





The public library in Eau Claire (now named the L.E. Phillips Memorial Public Library) has benefited from the generosity of several benefactors over the years. An online history of the early years of the public library can be found HERE. In 1894 the library was given rent free space in the new Ingram Building by lumberman Orin H. Ingram. The Ingram Building is shown in the first postcard above. In 1902 a grant of $40,000 was obtained from Andrew Carnegie for a new library building and the grand opening of the building was held on April 21, 1904, just over 106 years ago. A copy of the letter requesting the grant from Andrew Carnegie is located HERE. The second postcard shows the exterior of the Carnegie building and the third postcard shows the interior.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, November 21, 2017


Popular Tags

DeForest Area Public Library Parcel post Ruth Ann Montgomery Sandra Friedman Dolnick campaign Matthew S. Dudgeon COLAND caly film presentations National Bookmobile Day Jerome P. Daniels Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries William J. Wilson Library e 21 Soughton Public Library Middleton Public Library 22 Amer Superior Carnegie Libraries Ripon Public Library Elroy Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library 20 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Edward Asahel Birge 14 Sarah Janice Kee 11 Cornelia Marving Pierce Meter mail slogans Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Charles Bunge Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library World War I Brown County Library Marketing-Publicity cam Oshkosh Public Library Increase A. Lapham Klaus Linderfelt Larry T. Nix I Love Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2015 Black River Falls Hall Library Buidlings WHCLIS Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Zona Gale Dianne McAfee Hopkins Irene W. Newman John J. Jax Library People Madison Public Library anniversaries Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Manitowoc Public Library archives School of Library and Information Studies caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Delia Ovitz James Duane Doty Gilbert H. Doane Publications Rusk County Community Library Library Buildings Postcards library education Carl Spitzweg Beaver Dam Public Library Beloit Public Library Appleton Public Library Milwaukee Public Library National Library Week Hall of Fame 2015 Council on Library and Network Development Tower Hill Wisconsin Wisconsin Rapids Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2017 Library History Public libraries Library Artifacts James Huff Stout Wayne A. Wiegand State Law Library membership libraries Library people Postcards UW-Milwaukee Libraries Public library systems background White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2009 Eager Free Public Library state historical society hall of Louise S. Robbins Jane K. Billings Campaign bookworm 23 Carnegie libraries Postcards Wisconsin Library Association S. Janice Kee Cooperative Children's Book Center books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2015 WLA 125 Digital Collections Hall of Fame 2013 Anniversaries Wisconsin Free Library Commission School libraries Clarence Brown Lester Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign Events Brown Deer Public Library Cam Wilbur Lyle Eberhart WLA 125 CCBC Hall of Fame 2008 Hartford Public Library Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Bernard Schwab campa library memorabilia Special libraries Richard E. Krug Centennial Black River Falls Public Library McMillan Memorial Library Academic Librarians Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Dorothea M. Krause Inform Wisconsin Library Trustees 24 Suring Area Public Library Gertrude Thurow Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2015 Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Library Bulletin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign trav Library celebrations Capitol Fire 1904 American Library Association UW-Madison school of library and information studies 28 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Nolan I. Neds Pewaukee Public Library Ruby Roeder Orrilla Blackshear library exhibit Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Milwaukee Public Library Library people WLA 125 Peter G. Hamon UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Woman's Congress Milwaukee Art Museum T. B. Scott Free Public Library John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2015 Exhibits 10 27 Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2012 Ice Storm Gerald A. Somers Marjorie Sornson Malmberg WWI Library War Service library legislation ca campaign People Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2014 campaign Historical Register Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2011 Academic Libraries Lutie Stearns Events & Meetings bed and breakfast Events & Meetings Katharine MacDonald Jones Clinton Public Library Public libraries J. D. Witter Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Lutie Eugenia Stearns Postcards Wisconsin Free Library Commission Portage Public Library WAAL traveling libraries Library Systems Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2012 caly film Buttons Bookmobiles buil

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo