Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Eastern Shores 30th Anniversary

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, September 12, 2009 in Exhibits
easternshores5-72.jpgThe Eastern Shores Library System headquartered in Sheboygan is celebrating its 30th anniversary on Sunday with an open house. To help celebrate this occasion I put together a special exhibit on behalf of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center. The main Wisconsin Library Memorabilia exhibit is on display at the Door County Library in Sturgeon Bay for September and October, so some improvisation was required. Where possible artifacts with a connection to ESLS and its member libraries were used, but these were supplemented with a variety of other items. The exhibit includes library postcards, library souvenirs, library mail, library buttons, and a framed collection of artifacts relating to the 1971 passage of the Wisconsin public library system law. The 1971 system law display is normally located in meeting room C of the Wisconsin Library Association offices. The Eastern Shores Library System began as the Sheboygan County Library System but was renamed when Ozaukee County joined the system in 1987.


David Weinhold Thursday, October 01, 2009

We received many comments on the display and people were very impressed by the artifacts you have that connect to our libraries and area.
Job well done and thank you for being part of our celebration.

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, November 21, 2019


Popular Tags

Carl Spitzweg Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2017 28 Public libraries Campaign Academic Librarians Nolan I. Neds bookworm Gilbert H. Doane National Library Week McMillan Memorial Library bed and breakfast Hall of Fame 2018 Wayne A. Wiegand WAAL 24 caly film Special libraries Beloit Public Library World War I campaign Bob Bochfer Beaver Dam Public Library I Love Libraries Amer Delia Ovitz Katharine MacDonald Jones Events & Meetings Centennial Jane K. Billings Library people Library History campaign Hall fo Fame 2012 21 campa Portage Public Library 20 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries archives Robert Bocher Clarence Brown Lester Events & Meetings Black River Falls Public Library Increase A. Lapham Postcards Nancy Marshall Brown County Library trav Hartford Public Library Middleton Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Library people Postcards Library Artifacts Superior Carnegie Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Digital Collections American Library Association Library War Service Dorothea M. Krause cam Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends James Duane Doty Cooperative Children's Book Center Council on Library and Network Development Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 COLAND Cornelia Marving Pierce Zona Gale Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs WLA 125 Cam Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Lowell W. Wilson Ruth Ann Montgomery WWI Library War Service Dick Sorensen Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library e Lucy E. Smith Morris Louise S. Robbins CCBC Woman's Congress Appleton Public Library William J. Wilson Library Systems traveling libraries 11 Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2016 hall of Capitol Fire 1904 Publications Wisconsin Library Heritage Center WHCLIS Dick Sorensen Pinback buttons Bookmobiles 10 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries membership libraries Clinton Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Dianne McAfee Hopkins S. Janice Kee Uncategorized Ruby Roeder Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2010 books-by-mail James Huff Stout Helen Adams Wisconsin State Law Library Gertrude Thurow Tower Hill Wisconsin Oshkosh Public Library Black River Falls White House Conference on Library and Information Services Richard E. Krug Wisconsin Historical Society Library People 23 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Anniversaries library memorabilia state historical society Historical Register Public libraries library legislation Hall of Fame 2013 anniversaries caly film Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Library Buidlings Library celebrations Wisconsin Library Bulletin UW-Milwaukee Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Sandra Friedman Dolnick background Meter mail slogans WLA 125 Orrilla Blackshear Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Bernard Schwab library exhibit Milwaukee Public Library Peter G. Hamon Soughton Public Library Parcel post Academic Libraries J. D. Witter UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies presentations Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2009 WLA 125 Marketing-Publicity Brown Deer Public Library Richard J. Sorensen Milwaukee Art Museum Postcards Postcards Irene W. Newman Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Campaign Rusk County Community Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library People Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Eager Free Public Library ca Public library systems Hall of Fame 2019 Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2012 Library Trustees John J. Jax Charles Bunge buil Campaign T. B. Scott Free Public Library Buttons Hall of Fame 2015 National Bookmobile Day caly film Matthew S. Dudgeon State Law Library Exhibits Madison Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Larry T. Nix Carnegie libraries Milwaukee Public Library Elroy Public Library 27 Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2012 library education Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2011 Anniversaries 22 Lutie Eugenia Stearns American Library Association WLA 125 School libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Frank Avery Hutchins DeForest Area Public Library Sarah Janice Kee John Miller Chancellor Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 14 Hall Klaus Linderfelt School of Library and Information Studies Inform Wisconsin Events Edward Asahel Birge Wisconsin Library Association

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo