Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Door-Kewaunee Bookmobile Demonstration

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, March 25, 2009 in Public libraries
bkm-wi-door-kewaunee-whs2.jpgThere is an article in today's Wisconsin State Journal  about the 1949 Door-Kewaunee Regional Library bookmobile demonstration.  Christine Pawley who has written extensively on the Door-Kewaunee Regional Library published an article in the Summer 2008 issue of the  Wisconsin Magazine of History entitled "The Wisconsin Idea in Action: Reading, Resistance & the Door-Kewaunee Regional Library, 1950-1952".  Pawley, a Professor at the University of Wisconsin Madison School of Library and Information Studies, serves on the Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center.  We have recently completed a page on this site about Wisconsin's bookmobiles. The image above is from the Wisconsin Historical Society's digital collection.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, February 18, 2020


Popular Tags

hall of Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services caly film library education Council on Library and Network Development Hartford Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Publications State Law Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Hall of Fame 2010 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Appleton Public Library Black River Falls Academic Libraries Gertrude Thurow Katharine MacDonald Jones 28 Buttons Library History bookworm Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2018 Bernard Schwab Postcards Peter G. Hamon Robert Bocher ca Pewaukee Public Library Events National Library Week Portage Public Library WLA 125 Library People Hall of Fame 2018 Richard J. Sorensen Exhibits John Miller Chancellor Wayne A. Wiegand Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Beaver Dam Public Library 23 Hall of Fame 2015 22 caly film WHCLIS Clarence Brown Lester American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2016 Evansville Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 27 11 bed and breakfast Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Milwaukee Public Library I Love Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission library exhibit White House Conference on Library and Information Services Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Library Association Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin background Anniversaries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2011 Library celebrations anniversaries 20 Irene W. Newman Superior Carnegie Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards UW-Madison school of library and information studies 24 Library Buidlings Wisconsin Free Library Commission Jane K. Billings Library Trustees Bookmobiles Digital Collections National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2008 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Lutie Stearns 10 Matthew S. Dudgeon campaign Gilbert H. Doane Dick Sorensen Events & Meetings McMillan Memorial Library People state historical society Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Beloit Public Library Rusk County Community Library cam Sarah Janice Kee Sandra Friedman Dolnick presentations Richard E. Krug Manitowoc Public Library Brown Deer Public Library campa Elroy Public Library Soughton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Dorothea M. Krause WLA 125 James Duane Doty Amer Library people Postcards Klaus Linderfelt Charles Bunge Meter mail slogans Campaign Inform Wisconsin Woman's Congress Wisconsin Library Bulletin Suring Area Public Library Public libraries Lowell W. Wilson library legislation Library people Wisconsin State Law Library Zona Gale 21 Centennial Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Gerald A. Somers Hall of Fame 2019 S. Janice Kee WLA 125 Eager Free Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins WAAL Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries School of Library and Information Studies Library Buildings Parcel post Capitol Fire 1904 J. D. Witter DeForest Area Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris trav Events & Meetings Madison Public Library campaign 14 traveling libraries Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2017 Clinton Public Library Middleton Public Library buil William J. Wilson Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Postcards Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2015 Increase A. Lapham Uncategorized books-by-mail Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Edward Asahel Birge caly film Black River Falls Public Library Special libraries Hall of Fame 2013 Carnegie libraries James Huff Stout COLAND Cam Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2012 Public libraries membership libraries Anniversaries Eratus Swift Wilcox Helen Adams CCBC Delia Ovitz Milwaukee Public Library Dick Sorensen Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Historical Society Brown County Library UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Nancy Marshall Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Rapids Public library systems Ice Storm John J. Jax Jerome P. Daniels Ruby Roeder Cornelia Marving Pierce Campaign School libraries Hall American Library Association library memorabilia Louise S. Robbins Larry T. Nix Library Systems Library e Brown Deer Public Library archives Ruth Ann Montgomery World War I Library Artifacts WWI Library War Service Historical Register Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Hall fo Fame 2012 WLA 125

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo