Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Death of a Library

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, January 06, 2009 in Academic libraries


Postcard depicting Whitford Memorial Hall which housed the Milton College Library from 1906 to 1967. It is now a retail store.





 On May 15, 1982 a Wisconsin college library along with the college it was part of died. The death of the college was announced to the staff and faculty in the library. The doors of the library were closed and the building in which it was located and the collection of books were transferred to other entities. Staff were only able to retrieve their posessions under supervision.

The college was Milton College in Milton, Wisconsin.  The library was the the Shaw Memorial Library. Milton College dated back to the Milton Academy which was established in 1844, and was one of the oldest continuously operating colleges in Wisconsin. The Shaw Memorial Library building was completed in 1967. Prior to that time the library was located in Whitford Memorial Hall from 1906 to 1967, and before that in Main Hall. Both the Whitford Hall building and the Main Hall building are still in existence and are part of a historical district in Milton.

The Shaw Memorial Library building was acquired by and now houses the Milton Public Library. The library's collection was sold as a unit to a college in Milwaukee.

Links related to Milton College and its libraries:

Milton College Preservation Society

Library History

Whitford Memorial Hall

Newspaper article on closing of the college

Whole Earth Review article by Barbara Rubin Hudson, Spring 1988


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, February 17, 2020


Popular Tags

Richard E. Krug Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Duane Doty Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Elroy Public Library Dick Sorensen Eager Free Public Library traveling libraries Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2015 McMillan Memorial Library Library Trustees Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Digital Collections Evansville Wisconsin Academic Librarians National Library Week Lutie Eugenia Stearns Carl Spitzweg Woman's Congress Charles Bunge library legislation Robert Bocher WLA 125 Events & Meetings Louise S. Robbins Bob Bochfer Hall of Fame 2013 Hall of Fame 2018 White House Conference on Library and Information Services ca Campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries J. D. Witter books-by-mail Sandra Friedman Dolnick Hall of Fame 2011 anniversaries Nancy Marshall WLA 125 Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hartford Public Library James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2012 Dorothea M. Krause Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library 27 10 Uncategorized Library History Hall of Fame 2018 Ripon Public Library library education Historical Register Postcards Public libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2008 Beloit Public Library Bernard Schwab membership libraries Hall of Fame 2010 trav Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Black River Falls Sarah Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2012 state historical society 24 COLAND Wisconsin Library Association Orrilla Blackshear background Appleton Public Library Irene W. Newman WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Zona Gale campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2016 Clinton Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society 20 Ice Storm library exhibit Library people Postcards library memorabilia caly film Ruth Ann Montgomery Clarence Brown Lester WWI Library War Service I Love Libraries Library Buildings cam Library people Library Buidlings 14 Hall of Fame 2017 Brown County Library People 23 Hall of Fame 2019 Events Exhibits Jerome P. Daniels Hall of Fame 2012 Postcards Dianne McAfee Hopkins bookworm Suring Area Public Library Gertrude Thurow Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2009 John J. Jax Capitol Fire 1904 Pinback buttons Events & Meetings Bookmobiles UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2015 Parcel post Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians WLA 125 Eratus Swift Wilcox Buttons Klaus Linderfelt Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 22 Middleton Public Library caly film Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library Artifacts School of Library and Information Studies Manitowoc Public Library Library People Library celebrations Cornelia Marving Pierce Peter G. Hamon archives Public library systems Dick Sorensen CCBC campa Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand T. B. Scott Free Public Library Special libraries 11 presentations Hall of Fame 2015 Amer Katharine MacDonald Jones Lowell W. Wilson Publications Lucy E. Smith Morris Library e State Law Library Wisconsin Rapids Centennial Postcards Academic Libraries Meter mail slogans Superior Carnegie Libraries Anniversaries Oshkosh Public Library Gilbert H. Doane Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 campaign Library Systems hall of Wisconsin Free Library Commission buil Black River Falls Public Library Inform Wisconsin John Miller Chancellor Council on Library and Network Development Ruby Roeder Public libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Increase A. Lapham WHCLIS Matthew S. Dudgeon DeForest Area Public Library Milwaukee Public Library 21 William J. Wilson S. Janice Kee Edward Asahel Birge Helen Adams Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Anniversaries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign Richard J. Sorensen Campaign Portage Public Library Jane K. Billings WAAL Soughton Public Library National Bookmobile Day bed and breakfast Larry T. Nix Pewaukee Public Library American Library Association Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries School libraries caly film 28 World War I UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies campaign Brown Deer Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall fo Fame 2012 Milwaukee Art Museum Gerald A. Somers Rusk County Community Library Madison Public Library Cam Wisconsin State Law Library Nolan I. Neds

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo