Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Creation of the Council on Library & Network Development

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, June 29, 2016 in WLA 125
In 1979 the Wisconsin Legislature created a Council on Library and Network Development (COLAND) within the Department of Public Instruction.  The 19 member advisory council advises the State Superintendent of Public Instruction on issues relating to library and information services in Wisconsin.  Members of the Council are appointed by the Governor for three year terms and include a combination of professional and public members.  COLAND emerged from a study conducted by a Special Committee of the Wisconsin Legislative Council in 1977-1979 which was chaired by Calvin Potter.  The Special Committee was charged with developing recommendations relating to: 1) the state aid formula for public library system aids; 2) the future role and function of the Division for Library Services in DPI; and 3) the role of the State Reference and Loan Library in DPI.  The Wisconsin Library Association actively monitored the work of the Special Committee.  The most controversial aspect of the work of the Committee concerned the issue of governance and administration of the Division for Library Services (DLS).  DLS had been created in 1965 when the former Wisconsin Free Library Commission was eliminated and this function was transferred to the DPI. The Secretary position of the former Commission became a Division Administrator position in DPI and was a non-political civil service appointment.  The Wisconsin library community and members of WLA split on how DLS should be governed and administered in the future. One faction wanted to create a new independent board to oversee state level library development and cooperation efforts and another faction wanted to preserve the Division for Library Services as a unit in DPI. The Special Committee of the Legislative Council recommended the creation of COLAND as compromise and it was incorporated into AB 20, the bill introduced by the Legislative Council as a result of the study and enacted by the Legislature.  As part of AB20, the Administrator position for the Division for Library Services was removed from civil service and the appointment was to be made in the future at the pleasure of the State Superintendent of Public Instruction.  


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, June 23, 2018


Popular Tags

Academic Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins Clinton Public Library American Library Association Louise S. Robbins UW-Milwaukee Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Cooperative Children's Book Center Wisconsin Free Library Commission Nolan I. Neds Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries 27 Wisconsin State Law Library Elroy Public Library WLA 125 anniversaries Lutie Stearns Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2014 John Miller Chancellor Marketing-Publicity Library History Inform Wisconsin Events & Meetings Library Buildings campaign 10 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Bookmobiles 23 Lowell W. Wilson Wayne A. Wiegand Library Buidlings Madison Public Library Amer CCBC 28 caly film 21 William J. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries McMillan Memorial Library state historical society Library e American Library Association Library War Service John J. Jax Soughton Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bernard Schwab cam People Centennial Library people Postcards UW-Madison school of library and information studies Peter G. Hamon Wisconsin Library Association Ice Storm Events & Meetings Ruth Ann Montgomery Dianne McAfee Hopkins presentations Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL J. D. Witter Jerome P. Daniels Library People Cam Brown County Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin School libraries Beloit Public Library Parcel post Hall Campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Events Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2012 Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2009 Special libraries Pewaukee Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library background books-by-mail Increase A. Lapham Historical Register Postcards Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Edward Asahel Birge Public library systems Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2017 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Wisconsin Rapids bookworm Academic Librarians Sandra Friedman Dolnick Milwaukee Art Museum 24 Gertrude Thurow WWI Library War Service Publications School of Library and Information Studies bed and breakfast buil campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries World War I hall of Pinback buttons Meter mail slogans National Bookmobile Day Library Trustees Capitol Fire 1904 Evansville Wisconsin Tower Hill Wisconsin Campaign Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Black River Falls WLA 125 James Duane Doty DeForest Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 State Law Library trav Marjorie Sornson Malmberg ca Library Systems Richard E. Krug Exhibits UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Irene W. Newman Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2011 Hall fo Fame 2012 COLAND Digital Collections Eager Free Public Library 20 traveling libraries James Huff Stout Katharine MacDonald Jones Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin Historical Society WLA 125 Rusk County Community Library Brown Deer Public Library WHCLIS Suring Area Public Library Library people Hall of Fame 2008 National Library Week Hall of Fame 2012 Klaus Linderfelt Uncategorized Middleton Public Library White House Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2016 Sarah Janice Kee Buttons library exhibit caly film Library celebrations Jane K. Billings Eratus Swift Wilcox archives Ruby Roeder T. B. Scott Free Public Library library legislation Campaign Delia Ovitz Cornelia Marving Pierce Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 14 Carl Spitzweg Postcards 22 11 Postcards Dorothea M. Krause Gilbert H. Doane Ripon Public Library library education Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Black River Falls Public Library Hartford Public Library Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Brown Deer Public Library campa Larry T. Nix Orrilla Blackshear membership libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Gerald A. Somers Public libraries caly film Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2010 Oshkosh Public Library Portage Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Charles Bunge WLA 125 Zona Gale Milwaukee Public Library I Love Libraries S. Janice Kee Carnegie libraries Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 library memorabilia Public libraries Manitowoc Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo