Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Clarence S. Hean, Agricultural Librarian

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, December 16, 2009 in Postcards


alaconfpc2-72.jpgA postcard mailed in March of 1911 to announce the American Library Association Conference in Pasadena, California provides a link to one of Wisconsin's longtime special librarians. When Clarence S. Hean received this postcard he had been the Agricultural College Librarian and the University of Wisconsin for three years. He didn't complete his service in that position until June, 1952, a span of 44 years. The library he directed is now the Steenbock Memorial Library. A group of letters exchanged with Nobel Laureate Joshua Lederberg relating to Hean's retirement is located here. The 1911 ALA Pasadena Conference was the conference at which Theresa West Elmendorf was elected the first woman president of the American Library Association. Elmendorf is a member of the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, September 25, 2017


Popular Tags

state historical society Campaign Pewaukee Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce Soughton Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins WWI Library War Service Meter mail slogans Evansville Wisconsin Cooperative Children's Book Center Hall of Fame 2012 COLAND WLA 125 Events & Meetings Centennial Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries School libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2012 State Law Library presentations Wisconsin Historical Society Inform Wisconsin Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Postcards Hall of Fame 2009 buil anniversaries Carnegie libraries 21 Zona Gale Library people Postcards Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Pinback buttons Delia Ovitz Postcards American Library Association Library War Service American Library Association Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin State Law Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide cam Hall of Fame 2015 Beloit Public Library Library Systems Manitowoc Public Library National Bookmobile Day Anniversaries Library Trustees Hall of Fame 2015 Library People Milwaukee Public Library Special libraries Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians 14 books-by-mail White House Conference on Library and Information Services Brown County Library Hall bookworm Gertrude Thurow School of Library and Information Studies Hall of Fame 2014 Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2013 Hartford Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Wayne A. Wiegand Dorothea M. Krause Charles Bunge James Huff Stout WAAL caly film Irene W. Newman 28 Tower Hill Wisconsin Black River Falls Public Library J. D. Witter Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Parcel post Library Artifacts Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library hall of library exhibit Black River Falls Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2015 Exhibits Wisconsin Library Association archives Library celebrations Carl Spitzweg campaign CCBC Hall of Fame 2015 World War I Academic Librarians Wisconsin Library Bulletin National Library Week DeForest Area Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries Anniversaries library legislation Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Events & Meetings Library e UW-Milwaukee Libraries Clinton Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Public libraries caly film Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2011 Frank Avery Hutchins caly film ca Academic Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 20 background Portage Public Library Public libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission McMillan Memorial Library Ruth Ann Montgomery Digital Collections Madison Public Library bed and breakfast campa Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries S. Janice Kee library memorabilia Capitol Fire 1904 Gilbert H. Doane Rusk County Community Library Elroy Public Library Council on Library and Network Development Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Public library systems Matthew S. Dudgeon Ice Storm Library Buildings I Love Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Appleton Public Library WLA 125 Increase A. Lapham Cam Amer Historical Register 10 Library History Wisconsin Rapids Katharine MacDonald Jones Eager Free Public Library 27 Marketing-Publicity 22 WHCLIS Brown Deer Public Library Nolan I. Neds Ripon Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Buttons Bookmobiles John Miller Chancellor library education Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Uncategorized campaign James Duane Doty Lutie Stearns Woman's Congress Milwaukee Art Museum Larry T. Nix Campaign William J. Wilson Peter G. Hamon 11 Publications UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Gerald A. Somers Jane K. Billings Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 membership libraries trav Bernard Schwab T. B. Scott Free Public Library Suring Area Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies Postcards Hall of Fame 2010 traveling libraries 23 Campaign campaign 24 Oshkosh Public Library Richard E. Krug WLA 125 Library Buidlings Events Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Sarah Janice Kee Lutie Eugenia Stearns People

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo