Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Clarence Brown Lester (1877-1951)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, October 22, 2012 in Hall of Fame

Clarence LesterClarence Brown Lester served as Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission from 1920 to 1949, the longest tenure for any Secretary of the Commission. Prior to becoming Secretary he was chief of the Commission's special training course for reference librarians (1913-1920). The Wisconsin Library Association’s Clarence B. Lester Library of the Year award (now just the Library of the Year Award) was established in his honor in 1955. He served as President of the National Association of State Libraries and also of the League of Library Commissions. Lester was a native of Providence, RI and a graduate of Brown University.  Lester was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 25, 2012.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, August 15, 2018


Popular Tags

Capitol Fire 1904 Ruth Ann Montgomery caly film trav James Huff Stout CCBC Cam Milwaukee Public Library Events & Meetings Eager Free Public Library Buttons Edward Asahel Birge Milwaukee Art Museum Library Artifacts S. Janice Kee Centennial Clarence Brown Lester Lutie Stearns WHCLIS campaign 22 21 Hall of Fame 2017 Matthew S. Dudgeon Gerald A. Somers UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies DeForest Area Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Library e Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign Library people Hall fo Fame 2012 Hartford Public Library Campaign Library celebrations Anniversaries Library Trustees ca Richard E. Krug School libraries buil Uncategorized World War I Hall Brown County Library Ruby Roeder Academic Libraries Historical Register Pinback buttons 10 Library Buildings National Bookmobile Day Irene W. Newman John Miller Chancellor Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2014 Hall of Fame 2016 campaign J. D. Witter Publications School of Library and Information Studies Inform Wisconsin library legislation Orrilla Blackshear Ice Storm Council on Library and Network Development Digital Collections National Library Week Tower Hill Wisconsin Soughton Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians John J. Jax Postcards campa WWI Library War Service Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services WLA 125 23 hall of Frank Avery Hutchins UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library History cam Jane K. Billings Black River Falls Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Gertrude Thurow WLA 125 Public libraries People 28 Hall of Fame 2015 Library Systems Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Elroy Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Sarah Janice Kee Oshkosh Public Library Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Charles Bunge Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries bookworm library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2009 books-by-mail Parcel post Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Wisconsin Rapids Brown Deer Public Library Postcards traveling libraries Bookmobiles Library people Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin State Law Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries caly film Cooperative Children's Book Center Katharine MacDonald Jones caly film Hall of Fame 2012 membership libraries 20 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Larry T. Nix Hall of Fame 2012 COLAND Hall of Fame 2008 Public library systems William J. Wilson Events & Meetings 24 Library People Postcards Hall of Fame 2010 campaign Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Jerome P. Daniels Gilbert H. Doane I Love Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Amer Rusk County Community Library Exhibits Academic Librarians library exhibit library education WAAL State Law Library Woman's Congress Black River Falls Public Library 11 Manitowoc Public Library Peter G. Hamon Anniversaries Hall of Fame 2013 archives Ripon Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Dianne McAfee Hopkins Increase A. Lapham Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Special libraries Events Meter mail slogans Superior Carnegie Libraries Suring Area Public Library Clinton Public Library Milwaukee Public Library Klaus Linderfelt 27 Portage Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Carl Spitzweg Library Buidlings Wisconsin Library Association American Library Association Lowell W. Wilson 14 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Louise S. Robbins Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Free Library Commission bed and breakfast Appleton Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin Free Library Commission Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Library Bulletin Middleton Public Library Pewaukee Public Library Beloit Public Library presentations Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2015 Madison Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce WLA 125 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2015 Marketing-Publicity UW-Madison school of library and information studies state historical society anniversaries Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign James Duane Doty Public libraries Delia Ovitz Hall of Fame 2012 background Lutie Eugenia Stearns

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo