Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Carthage College Lincoln Connection

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, January 24, 2009 in Academic libraries


The nation is celebrating the bicentennial of Abraham Lincoln's birth this year. Wisconsin has a number of connections to Abraham Lincoln including those of Carthage College in Kenosha, Wisconsin. Carthage College was founded in 1847 as the Literary and Theological Institute of the Lutheran Church of the Far West.  After a series of name changes it became Carthage College when it moved to Carthage, Illinois in 1870. It relocated to Kenosha, Wisconsin in 1962. Abraham Lincoln served as a Trustee of the College in 1860-61 and sent his oldest son Robert Todd to the Preparatory Department of the College when the college was located in Springfiled, Illinois. The special envelope above was created when the "A Nation of Readers" stamp was issued in October of 1984. 

A high point in the recent history of the college was the dedication of the Hedberg Library on October 18, 2002. Librarian of Congress James H. Billington gave the dedicatory address. The Hedberg Library at Carthage College was the 2004 Wisconsin Library Association Library of the Year.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, September 15, 2019


Popular Tags

Parcel post Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 Carnegie libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Jerome P. Daniels Klaus Linderfelt Richard E. Krug 21 Digital Collections Hall of Fame 2015 Wayne A. Wiegand Library Buildings Campaign Bernard Schwab Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2009 Special libraries Hall of Fame 2016 Cooperative Children's Book Center White House Conference on Library and Information Services Delia Ovitz Bob Bochfer Exhibits Dianne McAfee Hopkins William J. Wilson Library History Uncategorized Zona Gale Frank Avery Hutchins Hartford Public Library Campaign Oshkosh Public Library Postcards 28 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Library celebrations Cam American Library Association Library War Service anniversaries State Law Library Library people Postcards bed and breakfast School libraries Hall of Fame 2012 ca National Library Week Public library systems John Miller Chancellor cam Irene W. Newman library memorabilia J. D. Witter Milwaukee Public Library Library e caly film WHCLIS Robert Bocher caly film Hall of Fame 2011 campaign Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends I Love Libraries Rusk County Community Library buil trav library education Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2013 Brown Deer Public Library Buttons Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall fo Fame 2012 Centennial archives National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Library Association Beloit Public Library membership libraries Peter G. Hamon Suring Area Public Library Soughton Public Library library legislation Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings S. Janice Kee 22 Brown County Library Beaver Dam Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon campaign Appleton Public Library Pinback buttons Library Trustees Events & Meetings Evansville Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Manitowoc Public Library Middleton Public Library Hall Hall of Fame 2012 T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission James Huff Stout Tower Hill Wisconsin Gerald A. Somers Sarah Janice Kee background Hall of Fame 2008 Clarence Brown Lester Capitol Fire 1904 Anniversaries WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library Postcards Postcards COLAND Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Elroy Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WLA 125 Gilbert H. Doane UW-Madison school of library and information studies American Library Association Amer Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2010 Public libraries John J. Jax CCBC Orrilla Blackshear UW-Milwaukee Libraries books-by-mail DeForest Area Public Library Library Buidlings Publications Pewaukee Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Superior Carnegie Libraries James Duane Doty People Hall of Fame 2012 Marketing-Publicity Hall of Fame 2015 Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library hall of 23 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies 27 Hall of Fame 2018 Library Systems Katharine MacDonald Jones Wisconsin Free Library Commission Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Academic Libraries Helen Adams traveling libraries Library people Hall of Fame 2018 Edward Asahel Birge Larry T. Nix School of Library and Information Studies Ripon Public Library Meter mail slogans Increase A. Lapham Council on Library and Network Development Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2017 Black River Falls Carl Spitzweg Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Charles Bunge Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Woman's Congress World War I Historical Register Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 20 Cornelia Marving Pierce caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Jane K. Billings 24 WWI Library War Service Lowell W. Wilson campa Madison Public Library Library People Anniversaries Wisconsin State Law Library Milwaukee Art Museum Black River Falls Public Library 11 Eager Free Public Library Academic Librarians Milwaukee Public Library presentations Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide 10 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Events Inform Wisconsin Ice Storm library exhibit Eratus Swift Wilcox McMillan Memorial Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick campaign Wisconsin Historical Society Louise S. Robbins Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaign Wisconsin Rapids Public libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Lucy E. Smith Morris Ruby Roeder Bookmobiles Lutie Stearns WLA 125 bookworm state historical society Gertrude Thurow WAAL 14

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo