Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Bunge Remembers Kee

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Saturday, February 13, 2016 in WLA 125
S. Jan KeeWisconsin Library Hall of Fame member Charles Bunge made an excellent presentation about the creation of Wisconsin's public library systems law on February 8. In the open discussion period following his presentation Bunge recounted meeting S. Jan Kee, another Library Hall of Fame member in the late 1960s. Kee had served as Secretary of the Wisconsin Free Library Commission from 1956 to 1965, an important period leading up to the public library systems law. Bunge was heavily involved in the actual development of the legislation which was signed into law in 1971. In talking at their chance meeting, Bunge and Kee discovered that they had a remarkable connection. While working on the bookmobile in a State Library of Missouri library demonstration project in the 1940s Kee had provided a young boy in Gasconade County, MO a copy of Lincoln’s Gettysburg Address. That boy was Charles Bunge. The audience expressed a desire for Bunge to share this amazing story more widely. He has graciously written up a fuller account of their meeting and it is now located on the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center website. 


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, October 22, 2019


Popular Tags

Wisconsin Library Association Campaign Hall of Fame 2015 ca Hall of Fame 2013 Edward Asahel Birge Library History 28 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Helen Adams Hall of Fame 2012 Library Systems Library people Postcards Beaver Dam Public Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library library legislation Buttons Parcel post Louise S. Robbins Wayne A. Wiegand Delia Ovitz campa Hall of Fame 2015 Zona Gale Increase A. Lapham Klaus Linderfelt Ice Storm James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2018 library memorabilia Larry T. Nix library education White House Conference on Library and Information Services Events & Meetings WWI Library War Service Clinton Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Capitol Fire 1904 archives Council on Library and Network Development Lucy E. Smith Morris Library Buidlings hall of UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Pewaukee Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick Oshkosh Public Library Publications Library Trustees American Library Association Library War Service Eager Free Public Library WLA 125 Historical Register Bob Bochfer 20 Evansville Wisconsin Brown Deer Public Library Madison Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce John Miller Chancellor John J. Jax caly film Manitowoc Public Library Library Buildings Campaign Ripon Public Library Pinback buttons caly film Centennial 22 21 DeForest Area Public Library cam Lutie Eugenia Stearns campaign 10 Cam Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians WLA 125 Irene W. Newman Public libraries Middleton Public Library trav Hall of Fame 2015 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Jerome P. Daniels I Love Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2008 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gerald A. Somers Black River Falls Robert Bocher anniversaries Special libraries McMillan Memorial Library School libraries Jane K. Billings Tower Hill Wisconsin state historical society Wisconsin Free Library Commission Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library People traveling libraries Wisconsin State Law Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries 11 Hall of Fame 2017 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends caly film bed and breakfast Events Charles Bunge 14 Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2018 Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Bulletin Carl Spitzweg Richard E. Krug Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2012 Orrilla Blackshear Hall fo Fame 2012 27 Wisconsin Rapids Clarence Brown Lester Milwaukee Public Library Postcards background Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Library people Academic Libraries Postcards Hall State Law Library Superior Carnegie Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Campaign Exhibits Meter mail slogans Black River Falls Public Library Academic Librarians Library celebrations bookworm National Library Week Gilbert H. Doane Milwaukee Art Museum Marjorie Sornson Malmberg J. D. Witter Portage Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 membership libraries Anniversaries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services CCBC campaign Hall of Fame 2009 Hall of Fame 2015 WHCLIS WLA 125 Uncategorized Bernard Schwab Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2014 Digital Collections Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Duane Doty 24 Hartford Public Library WLA 125 Rusk County Community Library Suring Area Public Library School of Library and Information Studies presentations Marketing-Publicity Matthew S. Dudgeon Public libraries Katharine MacDonald Jones Eratus Swift Wilcox Library e buil Gertrude Thurow Anniversaries World War I Soughton Public Library WAAL Amer Beloit Public Library Lowell W. Wilson National Bookmobile Day Library People Sarah Janice Kee Brown County Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins S. Janice Kee Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin Historical Society Peter G. Hamon library exhibit Wisconsin Free Library Commission William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2012 books-by-mail Bookmobiles Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Stearns Inform Wisconsin Public library systems 23 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Brown Deer Public Library COLAND campaign American Library Association Ruby Roeder Carnegie libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center Nolan I. Neds Elroy Public Library Events & Meetings

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo