Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Bernard Schwab (1920-1990)

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 08, 2013 in Hall of Fame

Bernard SchwabBernard (Bernie) Schwab was inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame on October 23, 2013 at the annual conference of the Wisconsin Library Association in Green Bay, WI. Schwab served as Director of the Madison Public Library from 1957 to 1981. Under his leadership the library built a new central library and five branch libraries were added. He established the Dane County Historical Records Center, the Municipal Reference Service, and the Madison Area Library Council. He helped to create the first Friends of the Library group in Wisconsin. The Madison Public Library was named Library of the Year in 1966. He served as President of the Wisconsin Library Association in 1966-67 and was named Librarian of the Year in 1970. Schwab was chair of the Wisconsin Council for Library Development in 1973-74. Schwab was WLA’s representative to the American Library Association (ALA) and served on ALA’s joint committee on library service to labor. Schwab was born in Brooklyn, NY. He received a Bachelor’s degree from the College of the City of New York in 1943 and a Library Science degree from the Pratt Institute. Prior to coming to Madison he held several positions at the District of Columbia Public Library in Washington, DC. Before becoming Director he served as Assistant Director of the Madison Public Library from 1954 to 1957. After his death in 1990, the City Council changed the name of the central library to the Bernard Schwab Library.

The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Tuesday, November 21, 2017


Popular Tags

Library People Academic Librarians I Love Libraries Eratus Swift Wilcox Wisconsin State Law Library John J. Jax Evansville Wisconsin Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Postcards Nolan I. Neds Hall of Fame 2015 Library History James Duane Doty Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Bookmobiles Hall of Fame 2013 Council on Library and Network Development Clarence Brown Lester Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wisconsin Historical Society Marketing-Publicity T. B. Scott Free Public Library Milwaukee Public Library bookworm Wisconsin Library Bulletin People Lutie Eugenia Stearns Oshkosh Public Library Zona Gale 22 Cooperative Children's Book Center library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2010 DeForest Area Public Library John Miller Chancellor National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Hall of Fame 2012 Library people Superior Carnegie Libraries Brown Deer Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services 24 Woman's Congress bed and breakfast Events & Meetings Events Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Library Association library education presentations Hall of Fame 2009 Library e 20 Carl Spitzweg S. Janice Kee Appleton Public Library Cornelia Marving Pierce membership libraries World War I Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Louise S. Robbins White House Conference on Library and Information Services Ruth Ann Montgomery Publications Eager Free Public Library Library Buildings WLA 125 Jane K. Billings UW-Madison school of library and information studies Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2014 Suring Area Public Library Cam cam Peter G. Hamon campa Hall of Fame 2015 campaign Orrilla Blackshear Lutie Stearns Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Dorothea M. Krause Madison Public Library anniversaries Ripon Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Library Systems Increase A. Lapham Meter mail slogans Klaus Linderfelt School of Library and Information Studies campaign Black River Falls caly film Special libraries Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum WWI Library War Service 27 caly film hall of Exhibits Parcel post Clinton Public Library WLA 125 American Library Association Library War Service background Pinback buttons library legislation Pewaukee Public Library Elroy Public Library CCBC Library celebrations Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Beloit Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Gilbert H. Doane William J. Wilson Hall of Fame 2012 Middleton Public Library 28 Hall fo Fame 2012 McMillan Memorial Library Amer WAAL Events & Meetings Hartford Public Library Portage Public Library WHCLIS Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Postcards Academic Libraries Public libraries Larry T. Nix Hall of Fame 2015 Beaver Dam Public Library Digital Collections Campaign caly film Gerald A. Somers Campaign WLA 125 Library Artifacts library exhibit Wisconsin Free Library Commission Brown County Library Library people Postcards Wayne A. Wiegand Campaign Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Rapids Delia Ovitz Wisconsin Free Library Commission Centennial Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries James Huff Stout Anniversaries Buttons Edward Asahel Birge UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Gertrude Thurow Rusk County Community Library books-by-mail Sarah Janice Kee state historical society Jerome P. Daniels J. D. Witter 23 National Library Week Hall Ruby Roeder Public libraries ca Irene W. Newman Uncategorized 21 School libraries Charles Bunge trav Historical Register buil American Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 Sandra Friedman Dolnick campaign Tower Hill Wisconsin Milwaukee Public Library 14 Public library systems UW-Milwaukee Libraries Anniversaries Library Trustees traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2008 Carnegie libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Inform Wisconsin Katharine MacDonald Jones archives 11 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Ice Storm Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Lowell W. Wilson Richard E. Krug Bernard Schwab State Law Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library 10 Capitol Fire 1904 Postcards WLA 125 Brown Deer Public Library COLAND Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2011 Hall of Fame 2017

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo