Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Beginnings of the UW-Milwaukee Libraries

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, December 09, 2008 in Academic libraries
The UW-Milwaukee Libraries had their beginning as the Library of the State Normal School in Milwaukee which began in 1885. This postcard was mailed on July 12, 1926. At the time Delia Ovitz was the Librarian. She served in this capacity from 1901 to 1944. A list of all the directors of the UW-Milwaukee Libraries and their predecessors is here. In 1955, the state legislature approved a merger of Wisconsin State College, Milwaukee, and Milwaukee Extension Center of the University of Wisconsin to form the University of Wisconsin– Milwaukee. The new institution opened its doors in 1956. A timeline for the development of UW-Milwaukee can be found here.


Sarah Kropp Sunday, October 25, 2009

I was interested in seeing this article, as my great aunt was Dehlia Ovitz-- In addition, I am now a Library Media Specialist in Maryland!

Leave your comment

Guest Thursday, April 19, 2018


Popular Tags

Marjorie Sornson Malmberg archives Cam McMillan Memorial Library Manitowoc Public Library caly film 21 Postcards Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries DeForest Area Public Library books-by-mail Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2009 Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2012 Academic Libraries Pewaukee Public Library campa John Miller Chancellor Historical Register Hall of Fame 2014 Library people traveling libraries membership libraries buil Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eager Free Public Library WLA 125 World War I Hall of Fame 2015 Milwaukee Public Library Oshkosh Public Library 10 Pinback buttons Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Evansville Wisconsin White House Conference on Library and Information Services Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2013 Milwaukee Art Museum Irene W. Newman presentations WLA 125 Carnegie libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin Library Association National Bookmobile Day Academic Librarians UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hartford Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians S. Janice Kee Wisconsin Rapids Superior Carnegie Libraries background American Library Association Hall Council on Library and Network Development Dorothea M. Krause Cornelia Marving Pierce Gertrude Thurow Campaign Suring Area Public Library Hall of Fame 2008 Publications Sandra Friedman Dolnick School libraries Library People Gerald A. Somers State Law Library J. D. Witter Zona Gale 23 Black River Falls Sarah Janice Kee Cooperative Children's Book Center Katharine MacDonald Jones state historical society Public libraries COLAND Hall of Fame 2015 Rusk County Community Library Bookmobiles WLA 125 Jane K. Billings Peter G. Hamon Lowell W. Wilson John J. Jax Hall of Fame 2017 Public libraries 24 Charles Bunge 14 Anniversaries bookworm Hall of Fame 2015 Soughton Public Library Orrilla Blackshear anniversaries Campaign James Huff Stout Carl Spitzweg Tower Hill Wisconsin Beloit Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2010 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Elroy Public Library WAAL Uncategorized Library Artifacts Ruby Roeder Ice Storm Richard E. Krug UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Middleton Public Library Library celebrations Hall fo Fame 2012 trav Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library Trustees campaign Ripon Public Library Clinton Public Library Brown County Library Wisconsin Historical Society 22 Parcel post James Duane Doty Anniversaries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Portage Public Library 28 Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Library Bulletin I Love Libraries caly film Lutie Eugenia Stearns library legislation Inform Wisconsin Eratus Swift Wilcox Hall of Fame 2015 WHCLIS Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2011 Exhibits CCBC Events 27 Library History Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2012 Events & Meetings library exhibit Larry T. Nix Dianne McAfee Hopkins Madison Public Library Public library systems UW-Madison school of library and information studies 20 WWI Library War Service Gilbert H. Doane Brown Deer Public Library Woman's Congress Nolan I. Neds hall of People campaign Meter mail slogans Centennial Capitol Fire 1904 Special libraries Campaign School of Library and Information Studies ca Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Increase A. Lapham Lutie Stearns Library Buidlings Milwaukee Public Library Jerome P. Daniels caly film Buttons Hall of Fame 2015 Frank Avery Hutchins Digital Collections bed and breakfast library memorabilia National Library Week Black River Falls Public Library Delia Ovitz Events & Meetings William J. Wilson American Library Association Library War Service Postcards Library people Postcards 11 Marketing-Publicity Wisconsin State Law Library Louise S. Robbins Ruth Ann Montgomery campaign Appleton Public Library cam Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee WLA 125 Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Brown Deer Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Library e Amer Library Buildings library education Hall of Fame 2012 Library Systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wayne A. Wiegand

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo