Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Awards and Honors Banquet 2010

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Sunday, November 07, 2010 in Hall of Fame
potter-hof-acceptance-72.jpgThe Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Steering Committee appreciates the opportunity to induct new people into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame as part of the Awards and Honors Banquet at the WLA Annual Conference. This year in Wisconsin Dells on November 4 was the third time that the WLHC has inducted multiple individuals into the Hall of Fame during the Awards and Honors Banquet.  The Wisconsin Library Association Board and the WLA Awards and Honors Committee have been extremely gracious in allowing the inductions to take place at this important event at the WLA Conference. The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a logical extension of the recognition which is given annually to those who have made an important contribution to the improvement of library services in Wisconsin. Both the Awards and Honors Banquet and the Library Hall of Fame are made possible by the support of the WLA Foundation which is a major reason for supporting the Foundation with a contribution. Cal Potter is shown here giving his acceptance speech for his induction into the Library Hall of Fame.  Wayne Bassett, H. Vail Deale, Leah Gruber, and Julia Wright Merrill were all inducted posthumously. Information about all five inductees can be found HERE. I find the Awards and Honors Banquet to be one of the most uplifting events of the year. It always makes me proud to be a part of the Wisconsin library community. Information about this year's recipients and previous award winners can be found HERE.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, August 17, 2019


Popular Tags

Uncategorized Hall of Fame 2008 DeForest Area Public Library Public libraries Manitowoc Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies books-by-mail Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2015 Superior Carnegie Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin Parcel post Pewaukee Public Library National Library Week Soughton Public Library 28 Wisconsin Free Library Commission anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Irene W. Newman Suring Area Public Library American Library Association Library Buidlings Wisconsin Rapids Library Buildings Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Frank Avery Hutchins trav Wisconsin Free Library Commission Council on Library and Network Development Meter mail slogans Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Nolan I. Neds Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2012 Peter G. Hamon campaign 14 School of Library and Information Studies Lucy E. Smith Morris Jerome P. Daniels Milwaukee Art Museum People Centennial Library People traveling libraries John J. Jax State Law Library library exhibit Katharine MacDonald Jones UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Jane K. Billings Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Elroy Public Library 20 Hall of Fame 2010 Lutie Stearns campaign Hall Woman's Congress Klaus Linderfelt National Bookmobile Day Larry T. Nix COLAND Digital Collections Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library e Milwaukee Public Library membership libraries Beloit Public Library Sarah Janice Kee caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Brown Deer Public Library Ripon Public Library archives William J. Wilson campaign caly film J. D. Witter Public libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 10 library legislation Publications Hall of Fame 2014 11 Public library systems Hall fo Fame 2012 Wayne A. Wiegand Gerald A. Somers Brown County Library background Brown Deer Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Ruby Roeder Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Lutie Eugenia Stearns Madison Public Library Library people Academic Librarians Zona Gale WLA 125 Historical Register 22 Portage Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon library education White House Conference on Library and Information Services 23 Library Systems Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Capitol Fire 1904 Robert Bocher CCBC Wisconsin State Law Library Bob Bochfer Appleton Public Library Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Academic Libraries Hall of Fame 2018 WLA 125 Wisconsin Historical Society Postcards Library Artifacts Anniversaries Campaign Ruth Ann Montgomery T. B. Scott Free Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Helen Adams Campaign McMillan Memorial Library WHCLIS James Huff Stout Eratus Swift Wilcox WLA 125 Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2009 cam ca Pinback buttons WWI Library War Service Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Bernard Schwab Lowell W. Wilson World War I Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Buttons Cooperative Children's Book Center Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Charles Bunge hall of state historical society 27 Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2012 Library History School libraries Black River Falls Public Library Louise S. Robbins Hall of Fame 2015 Anniversaries Bookmobiles Gertrude Thurow UW-Milwaukee Libraries Oshkosh Public Library Evansville Wisconsin Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Increase A. Lapham 21 Cornelia Marving Pierce bookworm Ice Storm campa Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Black River Falls Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL Cam American Library Association Library War Service buil Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Events Amer Clinton Public Library John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2016 Marketing-Publicity Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2015 library memorabilia Library Trustees Richard E. Krug Eager Free Public Library Delia Ovitz Library people Postcards Dianne McAfee Hopkins Inform Wisconsin Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Campaign Special libraries Carl Spitzweg 24 Hall of Fame 2011 Hartford Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Postcards Exhibits James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2013 Beaver Dam Public Library S. Janice Kee Sandra Friedman Dolnick Gilbert H. Doane bed and breakfast Orrilla Blackshear Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Association I Love Libraries Postcards Library celebrations presentations

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo