Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Another Log Cabin Library

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, September 19, 2008 in Library buildings


On September 10, I posted an entry about the Forest Lodge Library in Cable, Wisconsin which claims to be the oldest log cabin library in the state. That claim has been challenged by the Wabeno Public Library in Forest County which is also located in a log building. Lois Radloff, Director of the Wabeno Public Library, has provided the following information about the library building.

In 1993, the Wabeno Public Library was listed on the National Register of Historic Places.  The research for that designation was completed by the Nicolet National Forest Service in Rhinelander, Wisconsin.  The structure was completed by the Chicago Northwestern Railroad as its land office in 1895.  The application for designation on the National Register states "the Land Office turned the building over to the city of Wabeno in 1923 to be used as the library."  It has been in continual use as a library to this day.

Thanks to Lois for bringing this information to our attention.  We have included the Wabeno Public Library on the Wisconsin Library Heritage Trail.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, November 21, 2018


Popular Tags

Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2011 Library people Postcards Woman's Congress Hall fo Fame 2012 archives Capitol Fire 1904 library memorabilia Robert Bocher Dianne McAfee Hopkins Frank Avery Hutchins Lucy E. Smith Morris 14 Meter mail slogans Gerald A. Somers Beaver Dam Public Library WLA 125 Katharine MacDonald Jones Pewaukee Public Library Clinton Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2018 Soughton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign Lowell W. Wilson State Law Library COLAND ca Portage Public Library Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Delia Ovitz American Library Association Eager Free Public Library Black River Falls campa Pinback buttons Public libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hartford Public Library Orrilla Blackshear Buttons Charles Bunge state historical society Beloit Public Library People Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Zona Gale background Centennial traveling libraries WAAL Academic Librarians Oshkosh Public Library Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission WLA 125 WHCLIS Sandra Friedman Dolnick library legislation Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2012 Nolan I. Neds 22 Increase A. Lapham Parcel post 11 Lutie Eugenia Stearns Library History John Miller Chancellor Historical Register Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 WWI Library War Service White House Conference on Library and Information Services T. B. Scott Free Public Library 20 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Black River Falls Public Library Edward Asahel Birge 27 bookworm Milwaukee Art Museum Brown Deer Public Library Postcards DeForest Area Public Library 28 Library people UW-Milwaukee Libraries Manitowoc Public Library S. Janice Kee Tower Hill Wisconsin Ice Storm McMillan Memorial Library campaign Clarence Brown Lester Public library systems Wisconsin State Law Library Marketing-Publicity Library People Jane K. Billings Exhibits Wayne A. Wiegand books-by-mail National Bookmobile Day Brown County Library Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2013 John J. Jax Library Buidlings Wilbur Lyle Eberhart library education buil 24 Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee membership libraries Appleton Public Library Public libraries hall of Council on Library and Network Development Dorothea M. Krause cam Madison Public Library Anniversaries William J. Wilson Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Academic Libraries Irene W. Newman Inform Wisconsin World War I Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2016 Cornelia Marving Pierce Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library caly film Richard E. Krug Postcards Superior Carnegie Libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon James Duane Doty caly film Evansville Wisconsin campaign UW-Madison school of library and information studies National Library Week WLA 125 Library e Peter G. Hamon Ruby Roeder trav CCBC Brown Deer Public Library Uncategorized Hall UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Hall of Fame 2014 Library Artifacts Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Events Sarah Janice Kee Larry T. Nix Bob Bochfer Gertrude Thurow 10 bed and breakfast Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Library Systems Helen Adams Lutie Stearns Eratus Swift Wilcox Digital Collections library exhibit Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign Hall of Fame 2009 Wisconsin Historical Society Cam 21 caly film Anniversaries American Library Association Library War Service Rusk County Community Library Special libraries Publications J. D. Witter Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians anniversaries Postcards Campaign campaign Library celebrations Bookmobiles I Love Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Suring Area Public Library Wisconsin Rapids presentations Carl Spitzweg Library Buildings 23 Hall of Fame 2015 James Huff Stout Carnegie libraries Hall of Fame 2008 Louise S. Robbins Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services School of Library and Information Studies Ripon Public Library Amer Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Hall of Fame 2017 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Klaus Linderfelt School libraries Elroy Public Library Library Trustees Jerome P. Daniels Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Cooperative Children's Book Center

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo