Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Anne Morris Boyd and UW-Whitewater

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, January 13, 2009 in Academic libraries

Today (January 13, 2009) is the 125th anniversary of the birth of Anne Morris Boyd (1884-1969) who served as Librarian of the State Normal School at Whitewater (now the University of Wisconsin - Whitewater) from 1913 to 1917.  Boyd served on the faculty of the University of Illinois Library School from 1918 to 1949 and was an authority and an advocate for government publications.  She was the author of the landmark publication United States Government Publications As Sources of Information for Libraries, and served as President of the Association of American Library Schools. She is listed in the Dictionary of American Library Biography.The postcard of the interior of the library shown above was mailed on Sept. 30, 1912, one year before the arrival of Boyd. More about Boyd can be found here.  

The State Normal School which was founded in 1868 became the University of Wisconsin-Whitewater in 1971.  The University Library at UW-Whitewater is a far different library today than when Boyd was librarian. A set of Flickr photographs of Willie the mascot at the University Library can be found here. A history of the Anderson Library Building at UW-Whitewater is located here.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, December 08, 2019


Popular Tags

COLAND Hall of Fame 2012 Academic Libraries Milwaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2019 21 Hall Hall of Fame 2015 Zona Gale campa Hall of Fame 2011 Events & Meetings Matthew S. Dudgeon Pinback buttons Marketing-Publicity Suring Area Public Library School of Library and Information Studies campaign Hall of Fame 2009 Larry T. Nix Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Manitowoc Public Library Clinton Public Library Dorothea M. Krause caly film Tower Hill Wisconsin Centennial Library people Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Delia Ovitz James Huff Stout Appleton Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society bed and breakfast Gerald A. Somers Bernard Schwab Evansville Wisconsin bookworm Eager Free Public Library Campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library caly film Ice Storm 10 Sandra Friedman Dolnick Ruth Ann Montgomery Milwaukee Public Library state historical society Cam Library people Postcards Library People Wisconsin Rapids Elroy Public Library I Love Libraries Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends campaign Portage Public Library Library History Black River Falls Public Library William J. Wilson Campaign American Library Association American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2014 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carnegie libraries WLA 125 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Ripon Public Library Postcards Hall of Fame 2017 Library Systems Charles Bunge traveling libraries Public libraries Public libraries books-by-mail Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Hall of Fame 2015 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg WLA 125 White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee 20 Beaver Dam Public Library library exhibit Dick Sorensen John J. Jax Milwaukee Art Museum Library Trustees Library Buildings National Bookmobile Day Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library celebrations Wisconsin State Law Library Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2018 Buttons Madison Public Library 27 Hall of Fame 2012 Black River Falls Brown Deer Public Library Louise S. Robbins Woman's Congress Hall of Fame 2010 buil DeForest Area Public Library Pewaukee Public Library library education Rusk County Community Library Brown County Library 28 National Library Week background presentations Bob Bochfer Library e Robert Bocher cam T. B. Scott Free Public Library Exhibits Hall of Fame 2008 Jerome P. Daniels Soughton Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 McMillan Memorial Library Uncategorized John Miller Chancellor Katharine MacDonald Jones 11 Digital Collections Edward Asahel Birge Richard E. Krug Clarence Brown Lester Gilbert H. Doane WLA 125 School libraries campaign Anniversaries Superior Carnegie Libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center library memorabilia Council on Library and Network Development Hall of Fame 2015 J. D. Witter Anniversaries 14 Cooperative Children's Book Center Historical Register Frank Avery Hutchins archives Special libraries Nancy Marshall Oshkosh Public Library Ruby Roeder Events & Meetings Library Artifacts Wisconsin Free Library Commission trav Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Irene W. Newman WLA 125 caly film 22 World War I 24 ca Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin Library Association Hall of Fame 2015 Public library systems Helen Adams UW-Madison school of library and information studies Postcards Postcards Dick Sorensen Klaus Linderfelt Orrilla Blackshear UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Middleton Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries CCBC Hall fo Fame 2012 S. Janice Kee 23 Cornelia Marving Pierce Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Inform Wisconsin Carl Spitzweg WWI Library War Service Hartford Public Library Gertrude Thurow Hall of Fame 2015 State Law Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide WHCLIS Lowell W. Wilson Jane K. Billings Bookmobiles library legislation Academic Librarians Capitol Fire 1904 Brown Deer Public Library hall of Wayne A. Wiegand Peter G. Hamon James Duane Doty Sarah Janice Kee Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2018 Meter mail slogans Hall of Fame 2016 membership libraries Parcel post Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Lucy E. Smith Morris Lutie Stearns Library Buidlings Wisconsin Library Bulletin WAAL Publications anniversaries Events Lutie Eugenia Stearns Eratus Swift Wilcox Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Amer People Richard J. Sorensen Beloit Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo