Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Angie Cox's Library

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Friday, March 12, 2010 in Postcards


pc-wi-pardeeville-72.jpgIn 2010 the Angie W. Cox Public Library in Pardeeville will celebrate the 100th anniversary of the gift of books from Angie W. Cox that eventually evolved into the public library that exists today. The history of the library is chronicled by Thomas A. Reinbeck and Steve Thompson on the library's website. Angie Williams Cox (1870-1955) played a continuing role through financial contributions to the development of the library that bears her name. A major milestone in the library's history was its legal establishment as a corporation (but not as a public library) in 1925. The Articles of Organization for the library were signed by the library board on October 24, 1925 and the State of Wisconsin granted it corporation status on November 5, 1925. A major controversy developed over a provision in the Articles of Organization that prohibited Catholics from serving on the library board. The controversy led to a legal battle over the support of the library by the City of Pardeeville. The legal issue was finally resolved by the Wisconsin Supreme Court in 1929. It determined that the provision prohibiting Catholics on the library board did not prevent support by the City as long as the library was open to all members of the public. In 1985 when Columbia County became a member of the South Central Library System, the Division for Library Services required that the Pardeeville library be established as a public library under Wisconsin Statutes in order to become a member of the library system. It complied with this requirement. The building shown in the postcard above was dedicated on August 26, 1934. It was the result of a major remodeling of an existing building which was accomplished with contributions from Angie Cox. The library continues to occupy this building today.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, July 26, 2017


Popular Tags

Library Artifacts 14 books-by-mail campaign Cam 10 Marketing-Publicity Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2013 Postcards UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Historical Register Peter G. Hamon Bookmobiles Council on Library and Network Development Library Systems Beaver Dam Public Library 11 traveling libraries Sarah Janice Kee Hall Bernard Schwab Elroy Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Library Trustees I Love Libraries Delia Ovitz Black River Falls Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Lutie Stearns Orrilla Blackshear Hall fo Fame 2012 Gerald A. Somers Jerome P. Daniels Wisconsin Rapids Brown Deer Public Library state historical society Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Postcards Appleton Public Library Library celebrations Larry T. Nix Academic Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies Nolan I. Neds Campaign library education Irene W. Newman Wisconsin State Law Library Portage Public Library Campaign membership libraries caly film Hall of Fame 2012 Capitol Fire 1904 Library people S. Janice Kee caly film Postcards DeForest Area Public Library Soughton Public Library 24 Tower Hill Wisconsin Public libraries Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends 28 20 Eratus Swift Wilcox State Law Library Milwaukee Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Klaus Linderfelt 27 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library History William J. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Parcel post caly film Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 McMillan Memorial Library J. D. Witter campaign Hall of Fame 2012 Wisconsin Library Association Publications Wayne A. Wiegand library exhibit Evansville Wisconsin WLA 125 Dianne McAfee Hopkins World War I White House Conference on Library and Information Services Ripon Public Library WWI Library War Service Middleton Public Library Uncategorized Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends American Library Association Library War Service James Duane Doty Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Hall of Fame 2016 Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin Free Library Commission Frank Avery Hutchins Meter mail slogans Clarence Brown Lester Amer Gertrude Thurow Cornelia Marving Pierce background Suring Area Public Library anniversaries Digital Collections John Miller Chancellor Woman's Congress library legislation Pewaukee Public Library Events & Meetings Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide trav Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Dorothea M. Krause campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries buil CCBC Rusk County Community Library WLA 125 Library Buildings archives campa Increase A. Lapham COLAND Library e Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Hall of Fame 2015 Ruth Ann Montgomery Ice Storm Lutie Eugenia Stearns Carnegie libraries Special libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Katharine MacDonald Jones Anniversaries Charles Bunge Brown County Library Brown Deer Public Library 21 Buttons hall of 22 Hall of Fame 2008 Madison Public Library WLA 125 Cooperative Children's Book Center Black River Falls Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Wisconsin Historical Society National Bookmobile Day Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2011 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Manitowoc Public Library Milwaukee Public Library School libraries Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Richard E. Krug WHCLIS School of Library and Information Studies Events & Meetings Exhibits Campaign presentations Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Anniversaries Library people Postcards Oshkosh Public Library Events bookworm Eager Free Public Library WAAL Academic Librarians bed and breakfast Inform Wisconsin library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2014 James Huff Stout cam T. B. Scott Free Public Library Centennial Library Buidlings Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library People Superior Carnegie Libraries Public libraries Hall of Fame 2009 People Edward Asahel Birge Public library systems WLA 125 American Library Association Clinton Public Library ca Pinback buttons 23 National Library Week Beloit Public Library Hartford Public Library Jane K. Billings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo