Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

ALA Madison Day 1901

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, December 15, 2008 in Library buildings

The 1901 Conference of the American Library Association took place in Waukesha. In the early Monday morning hours of July 8, 1901 the entire group of attendees went by train to Madison. As reported in the magazine Pulic Libraries, "They were met on their arrival by a local committee, carriages were provided and the party was taken to various points of interest about the city and through the beautiful drives adjoining the university grounds."  Later that afternoon "... the party was led through the new Historical library building... There was but one opinion of the entire party in regard to the beauty and arrangement of the building, and that was satisfactory to the highest degree. The beautiful reading-room was greatly admired by everyone, and even those who are wont to think that Bates hall [in the Boston Public Library] and the halls of the Congressional library at Washington are beyond compare, were willing to admit that the enthusiasm and praise of the room were merited." Madison Day ended with a group picture on the steps of the Historical library. "The party returned to Waukesha well pleased with its trip and delighted with the hospitality of the Madison people."

Plans are underway to restore the Reading Room of the State Historical Society to its original grandeur.

The image of those attending Madison Day is from the Wisconsin Historical Image collection of the Wisconsin Historical Society. Image ID: 45544.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Monday, May 28, 2018


Popular Tags

Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Edward Asahel Birge Campaign Brown County Library Katharine MacDonald Jones Appleton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Amer cam membership libraries Cam Ruth Ann Montgomery Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Tower Hill Wisconsin Soughton Public Library CCBC trav Gilbert H. Doane State Law Library Richard E. Krug Wisconsin State Law Library Ripon Public Library Klaus Linderfelt Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 WHCLIS WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2012 Library Trustees Orrilla Blackshear Publications Brown Deer Public Library bookworm Carnegie libraries campaign Library Buildings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Black River Falls Public Library Superior Carnegie Libraries I Love Libraries UW-Milwaukee Libraries Campaign White House Conference on Library and Information Services caly film Meter mail slogans Public libraries S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies buil Anniversaries Rusk County Community Library Portage Public Library library exhibit Clarence Brown Lester Charles Bunge Lutie Stearns caly film Library History Academic Librarians Uncategorized William J. Wilson Jerome P. Daniels Peter G. Hamon Milwaukee Public Library Library people Postcards Events & Meetings Woman's Congress Sandra Friedman Dolnick Wisconsin Historical Society Library Buidlings 14 School libraries Milwaukee Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2009 Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2015 DeForest Area Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Free Library Commission 23 Pewaukee Public Library James Huff Stout Eager Free Public Library People Evansville Wisconsin Library e WAAL bed and breakfast Capitol Fire 1904 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Special libraries Black River Falls anniversaries Cooperative Children's Book Center ca library legislation Hall of Fame 2015 Hall fo Fame 2012 Dorothea M. Krause Parcel post School of Library and Information Studies Public libraries Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services presentations WLA 125 James Duane Doty Library Systems campaign Library People Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends campa traveling libraries campaign Lutie Eugenia Stearns Hall Gerald A. Somers Public library systems 20 library memorabilia Elroy Public Library WLA 125 Ruby Roeder Wisconsin Library Association Gertrude Thurow Centennial Wisconsin Rapids Larry T. Nix Beaver Dam Public Library Sarah Janice Kee Historical Register background 21 Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall of Fame 2015 24 Dianne McAfee Hopkins J. D. Witter Madison Public Library 28 library education Clinton Public Library American Library Association Library War Service John Miller Chancellor Nolan I. Neds Exhibits Library people Irene W. Newman Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Library celebrations Postcards T. B. Scott Free Public Library books-by-mail Bernard Schwab Lowell W. Wilson 11 27 Campaign Louise S. Robbins National Library Week Hall of Fame 2016 COLAND Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bookmobiles Hartford Public Library caly film Matthew S. Dudgeon Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Events & Meetings Wayne A. Wiegand Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WWI Library War Service Marketing-Publicity Middleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2014 Carl Spitzweg 22 Hall of Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2008 Inform Wisconsin Council on Library and Network Development Cornelia Marving Pierce Wisconsin Free Library Commission Delia Ovitz American Library Association hall of Manitowoc Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Beloit Public Library Academic Libraries Anniversaries World War I archives state historical society 10 Hall of Fame 2013 Ice Storm UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Library Artifacts Events Digital Collections John J. Jax Buttons Zona Gale Postcards Postcards Jane K. Billings Pinback buttons McMillan Memorial Library Suring Area Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Eratus Swift Wilcox National Bookmobile Day Frank Avery Hutchins Hall of Fame 2017

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo