Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Academic Libraries & WLA

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Wednesday, April 20, 2016 in WLA 125
The Wisconsin Association of Academic Libraries (WAAL), one of the divisions of the Wisconsin Library Association (WLA), is holding its spring conference this week at the Heidel House in Green Lake.  After its founding in 1891 the focus of WLA was primarily public library service. However, academic librarians participated in the Association from its beginning. Walter M. Smith, Librarian of the University of Wisconsin in Madison, was the first academic librarian elected president of WLA (1908). In 1954 the College and University Section, the predecessor of WAAL, was established in WLA. H. Vail Deale was one of the founders of the College and University Section and served as its first chair in 1955-56.  A complete history of WAAL can be found HERE.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, August 24, 2019


Popular Tags

Oshkosh Public Library Amer National Library Week McMillan Memorial Library WWI Library War Service Academic Librarians Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 campaign library education Wisconsin Free Library Commission Library Systems Carl Spitzweg Events & Meetings Hall William J. Wilson WLA 125 buil 24 Jerome P. Daniels Charles Bunge Hall of Fame 2011 Black River Falls Public Library DeForest Area Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Jane K. Billings John Miller Chancellor World War I WLA 125 22 James Huff Stout Robert Bocher Library Buidlings membership libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Gerald A. Somers Appleton Public Library Larry T. Nix Parcel post Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Portage Public Library Marketing-Publicity Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Publications Elroy Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Council on Library and Network Development Wisconsin Free Library Commission Capitol Fire 1904 Middleton Public Library Gertrude Thurow 14 Tower Hill Wisconsin Brown Deer Public Library Library Artifacts Evansville Wisconsin Louise S. Robbins Ruby Roeder Helen Adams Carnegie libraries State Law Library Lowell W. Wilson 27 Nolan I. Neds bookworm Wisconsin Library Heritage Center 10 Public libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Ripon Public Library Eager Free Public Library UW-Madison school of library and information studies School libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin Cam Suring Area Public Library books-by-mail campaign Peter G. Hamon Soughton Public Library National Bookmobile Day Postcards Hall of Fame 2014 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries CCBC UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Meter mail slogans Klaus Linderfelt Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Richard E. Krug Black River Falls background T. B. Scott Free Public Library Beaver Dam Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Library celebrations Events Library people Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Library Association Matthew S. Dudgeon Increase A. Lapham People Superior Carnegie Libraries Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2009 Madison Public Library Campaign School of Library and Information Studies Eratus Swift Wilcox Dianne McAfee Hopkins Lutie Eugenia Stearns 20 Ruth Ann Montgomery Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Pinback buttons Anniversaries Campaign Lutie Stearns Postcards presentations Campaign Clinton Public Library Library people Postcards caly film Milwaukee Public Library Buttons WHCLIS cam Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Milwaukee Art Museum Brown Deer Public Library Academic Libraries Library Trustees Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 Dorothea M. Krause ca Inform Wisconsin Library History Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Library People John J. Jax Clarence Brown Lester Hall of Fame 2012 caly film Hall of Fame 2015 Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2015 Special libraries Hall of Fame 2013 I Love Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Orrilla Blackshear Hall of Fame 2015 Bookmobiles Cornelia Marving Pierce traveling libraries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library UW-Milwaukee Libraries Library e Public library systems Digital Collections Centennial American Library Association Hall of Fame 2016 bed and breakfast archives 11 21 Irene W. Newman Sandra Friedman Dolnick Beloit Public Library 23 J. D. Witter state historical society James Duane Doty Hall of Fame 2017 Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Cooperative Children's Book Center Woman's Congress Sarah Janice Kee COLAND library legislation Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Hall fo Fame 2012 Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library campaign Exhibits Hartford Public Library Zona Gale Hall of Fame 2008 Public libraries Anniversaries caly film Uncategorized library memorabilia WLA 125 Wayne A. Wiegand Library Buildings hall of Hall of Fame 2012 Ice Storm library exhibit Delia Ovitz Milwaukee Public Library Bernard Schwab Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Historical Register 28 trav Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Edward Asahel Birge Hall of Fame 2010 Lucy E. Smith Morris Bob Bochfer S. Janice Kee WLA 125 Katharine MacDonald Jones Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2018 WAAL campa Postcards

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo