Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

A Very Special Library Artifact

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, August 07, 2008 in Library artifacts

On a recent trip to Minneapolis I made a point of stopping off at the Russell J. Rassbach Heritage Museum in Menomonie, Wisconsin.  The Museum is part of the Dunn County Historical Society.  It houses one of Wisconsin's most important library artifacts - Traveling Library #13 of the original 32 traveling libraries established in Dunn County by Senator James Stout in 1896. Traveling libraries were small rotating collections of books. This first demonstration of the traveling library concept in Wisconsin expanded until there were hundreds of traveling libraries throughout the state.

When I indicated to the volunteer museunm staff member the purpose of my visit, I was half expecting that she would not know what I was talking about.  Instead she led me immediately to what is a permanent display of Traveling Library # 13. The museum is well aware of the importance of their unusual library artifact.  For a library history buff like me, it was like visiting a shrine.

Traveling Library #13 is an good example of why the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is not trying to establish a physical library history museum. Instead, the WLHC hopes to identify the location of important Wisconsin library artifacts, archives, and buildings and make this information known to all.  This is an important role for this website. If you have information about any of these historical treasures, we would like to hear from you.

More information on Wisconsin's traveling libraries can be found on the Traveling Libraries Page of this website.


Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, July 20, 2019


Popular Tags

William J. Wilson campa Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries National Bookmobile Day Digital Collections Zona Gale Cornelia Marving Pierce Clarence Brown Lester Events Pinback buttons Peter G. Hamon COLAND Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries WWI Library War Service Library people 28 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox Manitowoc Public Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Orrilla Blackshear 10 bookworm Cam Hall of Fame 2008 Clinton Public Library Dianne McAfee Hopkins Public library systems Postcards Inform Wisconsin 27 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Amer Increase A. Lapham Hall of Fame 2016 Hall of Fame 2015 WLA 125 Library Trustees CCBC Bookmobiles WLA 125 Dorothea M. Krause DeForest Area Public Library Exhibits Portage Public Library People Library Systems Wisconsin Historical Society Lutie Stearns Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 22 Appleton Public Library Richard E. Krug American Library Association Evansville Wisconsin Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services WHCLIS Anniversaries Public libraries Parcel post Helen Adams J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2015 Ruby Roeder Wisconsin State Law Library Jane K. Billings Woman's Congress traveling libraries John J. Jax Brown Deer Public Library state historical society School libraries cam Middleton Public Library Buttons Special libraries School of Library and Information Studies T. B. Scott Free Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Frank Avery Hutchins Nolan I. Neds Black River Falls Public Library buil Library people Postcards Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2018 library memorabilia 20 Pewaukee Public Library Robert Bocher archives Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Rusk County Community Library 21 trav Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Council on Library and Network Development caly film Carl Spitzweg Klaus Linderfelt WAAL bed and breakfast Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Library Bulletin caly film Campaign Hall of Fame 2014 Black River Falls Eager Free Public Library Wayne A. Wiegand State Law Library Marketing-Publicity Bob Bochfer S. Janice Kee Postcards Lowell W. Wilson UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Centennial caly film 11 Anniversaries Ice Storm Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries hall of Gertrude Thurow Katharine MacDonald Jones Ruth Ann Montgomery Suring Area Public Library Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2015 WLA 125 UW-Madison school of library and information studies I Love Libraries Beaver Dam Public Library Charles Bunge Lutie Eugenia Stearns McMillan Memorial Library campaign Events & Meetings Hall of Fame 2013 Carnegie libraries WLA 125 UW-Milwaukee Libraries Meter mail slogans Capitol Fire 1904 Public libraries Hall of Fame 2018 Wisconsin Free Library Commission National Library Week Library e Hartford Public Library background Soughton Public Library Academic Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Cooperative Children's Book Center Beloit Public Library Uncategorized White House Conference on Library and Information Services 14 Library Artifacts Hall of Fame 2012 American Library Association Library War Service Hall of Fame 2011 Oshkosh Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Historical Register Brown County Library Ripon Public Library Matthew S. Dudgeon Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Wisconsin Library Association Hall Elroy Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris campaign 23 anniversaries ca campaign library education presentations library legislation Hall of Fame 2009 Campaign Bernard Schwab Gerald A. Somers Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2017 24 Hall of Fame 2012 Irene W. Newman World War I Gilbert H. Doane Sarah Janice Kee Library History library exhibit Publications Jerome P. Daniels Events & Meetings Library Buildings Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Madison Public Library Edward Asahel Birge Larry T. Nix Louise S. Robbins Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Rapids Milwaukee Public Library Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Library Buidlings books-by-mail Hall of Fame 2012 Delia Ovitz Wilbur Lyle Eberhart membership libraries Sandra Friedman Dolnick James Huff Stout Hall of Fame 2010 John Miller Chancellor Milwaukee Art Museum Academic Librarians James Duane Doty Library People

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo