Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

2018 Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame Inductees

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, October 02, 2018 in Hall of Fame
Three individuals have been selected by the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center (WLHC) Steering Committee to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2018.  They are:  Lucy E. Smith Morris (1850-1935) who advocated for the development of public libraries in Wisconsin beginning in the late 19th century; Helen Adams a retired school library media specialist who advocated for school library media service at the state and national levels for more than 50 years; and Robert (Bob) Bocher, retired Department of Public Instruction Library Technology Consultant, who promoted  the use of technology to improve library service to the public, emerging as a state and national leader in this field. Their formal induction will take place at the WLA Annual Conference in La Crosse, WI on October 25. They will join 60 other individuals who have been previously inducted into the Library Hall of Fame.  The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the WLHC, a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation (WLAF).  Induction into the Hall of Fame is granted to individuals who have made an exceptional contribution to the improvement of library service in Wisconsin and/or nationally.   
More about these individuals can be found by clicking on the following links:
Tags: Untagged


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Sunday, August 18, 2019


Popular Tags

Bob Bochfer Carnegie libraries Cornelia Marving Pierce Lutie Eugenia Stearns Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2015 Increase A. Lapham William J. Wilson Richard E. Krug Sarah Janice Kee Soughton Public Library Inform Wisconsin Robert Bocher Hall of Fame 2013 Brown County Library campa Katharine MacDonald Jones anniversaries Superior Carnegie Libraries Events & Meetings library legislation Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Library people membership libraries McMillan Memorial Library James Huff Stout Carl Spitzweg Manitowoc Public Library National Bookmobile Day Zona Gale ca Library Buidlings Hall of Fame 2014 Library Systems CCBC 10 School of Library and Information Studies S. Janice Kee caly film Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Special libraries Peter G. Hamon library exhibit Helen Adams bed and breakfast WAAL Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign Lowell W. Wilson Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2012 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg National Library Week Parcel post 24 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Charles Bunge UW-Milwaukee Libraries Capitol Fire 1904 Edward Asahel Birge 11 Milwaukee Public Library Delia Ovitz School libraries Hall of Fame 2017 Buttons Eager Free Public Library Pinback buttons Hall of Fame 2012 Brown Deer Public Library Library History Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2015 Suring Area Public Library caly film Wisconsin State Law Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Hartford Public Library Library People American Library Association Amer Evansville Wisconsin Public libraries Academic Librarians Woman's Congress WWI Library War Service World War I 22 presentations Ruby Roeder Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries John J. Jax 23 Postcards Gerald A. Somers State Law Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Nolan I. Neds Centennial Dianne McAfee Hopkins Anniversaries Frank Avery Hutchins Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Hall of Fame 2016 27 buil Library Artifacts UW-Madison school of library and information studies Hall of Fame 2009 cam campaign Lutie Stearns Public library systems Wisconsin Rapids books-by-mail Ruth Ann Montgomery Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Wayne A. Wiegand Middleton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum COLAND Marketing-Publicity Tower Hill Wisconsin Hall of Fame 2012 hall of Eratus Swift Wilcox Digital Collections campaign Public libraries Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Bookmobiles Dorothea M. Krause Beloit Public Library Hall of Fame 2011 WLA 125 Louise S. Robbins traveling libraries Events Clinton Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Bernard Schwab Matthew S. Dudgeon Jerome P. Daniels Klaus Linderfelt Wisconsin Free Library Commission Historical Register Hall of Fame 2015 Oshkosh Public Library Larry T. Nix J. D. Witter Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Wisconsin Historical Society Academic Libraries Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Portage Public Library Postcards Jane K. Billings Milwaukee Public Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Library people Postcards People Library Buildings Uncategorized bookworm Library Trustees Gilbert H. Doane Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Council on Library and Network Development Campaign Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2010 Hall of Fame 2008 state historical society Wisconsin Library Association Cooperative Children's Book Center I Love Libraries 20 Brown Deer Public Library WHCLIS background Sandra Friedman Dolnick Anniversaries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Free Library Commission Clarence Brown Lester archives Irene W. Newman campaign American Library Association Library War Service James Duane Doty Lucy E. Smith Morris 28 21 WLA 125 Hall John Miller Chancellor Wisconsin Library Bulletin Library e Exhibits Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Campaign Appleton Public Library Meter mail slogans Pewaukee Public Library Hall of Fame 2018 trav Cam Gertrude Thurow WLA 125 Black River Falls Public Library Black River Falls Postcards UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies library education Madison Public Library Publications WLA 125 DeForest Area Public Library library memorabilia caly film 14 Library celebrations Elroy Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo