Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

2010 Library Hall of Fame Selections

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Tuesday, September 21, 2010 in Hall of Fame

The Steering Committee of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center, a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation, has selected five individuals to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2010.  They are Wayne Bassett (1915-1988), H. Vail Deale (1915-2004), Leah Gruber (1907-1996), Julia Wright Merrill (1881-1961), and Calvin Potter (1945- ).  The inductions will take place on November 4, 2010 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Wisconsin Dells.  Wayne Bassett served as Director of the Wausau Public Library, later merged into the Marathon County Public Library, and the Wisconsin Valley Library Service.  He served as the Legislative Advocate for WLA and as its President in 1976. H. Vail Deale was the former Director of Libraries at Beloit College.  He was a member of the 1954-55 Steering Committee that helped establish the Wisconsin Association of Academic Libraries (WAAL) in WLA and served as its first chair in 1955-56.  Deale served as President of the WLA in 1960-61.  Leah Gruber served as a trustee on the Prairie du Sac Library Board for 48 years. She also served on the boards of the Sauk County Library and the South Central Library System.  Leah served as President of the Wisconsin Library Trustee Association in 1973 and 1974.  She was honored as WLA’s trustee of the year in 1968 and was again selected for this honor in 1976.  Julia Wright Merrill worked for the Wisconsin Free Library Commission on two occasions, from 1903 to 1906 and again from 1917 to 1922. She taught in the WFLC’s library school and served as a field agent promoting public library service throughout the state. She was a national leader in public library extension and served as the first Executive Secretary of the Public Library Association of the American Library Association.  Calvin (Cal) Potter’s was a consistent and effective legislative supporter for Wisconsin libraries of all types during his 23 year career as a member of the State legislature and during his four and a half years service as Assistant State Superintendent, Division for Libraries, Technology, and Community Learning.  For his advocacy for libraries, Potter received WLA’s Citation of Merit in 1981 and again in 1985.  More extensive coverage of the accomplishments of these five individuals will be forthcoming in later posts to the WLHC website.



No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Wednesday, August 15, 2018


Popular Tags

Gerald A. Somers Wilbur Lyle Eberhart campaign Hall of Fame 2011 American Library Association Library War Service James Duane Doty Middleton Public Library 10 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Carnegie libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries Milwaukee Art Museum Hall of Fame 2014 Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Increase A. Lapham Beaver Dam Public Library 27 Milwaukee Public Library membership libraries Hall of Fame 2015 WAAL Hall of Fame 2012 Irene W. Newman 22 Orrilla Blackshear Council on Library and Network Development William J. Wilson Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Richard E. Krug Matthew S. Dudgeon Capitol Fire 1904 Eager Free Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Lutie Eugenia Stearns UW-Milwaukee Libraries Tower Hill Wisconsin 23 Gertrude Thurow Public libraries caly film bookworm background Frank Avery Hutchins John J. Jax Carl Spitzweg Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee J. D. Witter Postcards Peter G. Hamon T. B. Scott Free Public Library Beloit Public Library Soughton Public Library Marketing-Publicity Library Buildings trav hall of Digital Collections Library Buidlings People Hall of Fame 2016 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Jerome P. Daniels Manitowoc Public Library Library celebrations WLA 125 Historical Register National Bookmobile Day Klaus Linderfelt Library e Rusk County Community Library Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries School of Library and Information Studies Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Delia Ovitz ca Wisconsin Library Association School libraries Jane K. Billings DeForest Area Public Library I Love Libraries library education Special libraries Ice Storm Inform Wisconsin Gilbert H. Doane Events & Meetings anniversaries Library Artifacts World War I Brown Deer Public Library Hall Cam Hall of Fame 2015 Campaign Eratus Swift Wilcox National Library Week Milwaukee Public Library 20 presentations archives books-by-mail UW-Madison school of library and information studies 28 Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Academic Librarians McMillan Memorial Library Sarah Janice Kee Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2017 Oshkosh Public Library Ruby Roeder Elroy Public Library Library people WWI Library War Service campa WLA 125 Public library systems Events & Meetings Wisconsin Library Bulletin Pinback buttons Lowell W. Wilson Larry T. Nix COLAND Edward Asahel Birge Katharine MacDonald Jones Evansville Wisconsin library legislation 21 Clinton Public Library James Huff Stout Dianne McAfee Hopkins Wayne A. Wiegand John Miller Chancellor Library Systems Suring Area Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Zona Gale Pewaukee Public Library Library People Black River Falls library exhibit Library Trustees Buttons Anniversaries Hall fo Fame 2012 Library people Postcards Lutie Stearns Wisconsin Library Heritage Center state historical society Amer Hall of Fame 2010 WHCLIS Postcards 11 Uncategorized Meter mail slogans Cornelia Marving Pierce campaign 14 Public libraries Events bed and breakfast Woman's Congress State Law Library Hartford Public Library Clarence Brown Lester Centennial WLA 125 Postcards Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Appleton Public Library Wisconsin State Law Library Portage Public Library campaign cam Wisconsin Historical Society Bernard Schwab Hall of Fame 2009 Library History Dorothea M. Krause Black River Falls Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Wisconsin Free Library Commission American Library Association Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign buil Wisconsin Free Library Commission caly film Exhibits Hall of Fame 2012 Cooperative Children's Book Center Brown Deer Public Library Ripon Public Library Publications Madison Public Library Academic Libraries caly film Brown County Library Hall of Fame 2015 Hall of Fame 2008 Wisconsin Rapids WLA 125 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Parcel post Charles Bunge White House Conference on Library and Information Services Sandra Friedman Dolnick library memorabilia Louise S. Robbins CCBC S. Janice Kee traveling libraries Bookmobiles Nolan I. Neds 24 Anniversaries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo