Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

2009 Hall of Fame Inductees

Posted by Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix
Larry T. Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Monday, September 21, 2009 in Hall of Fame
The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Steering Committee has selected seven individuals to be inducted into the Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame in 2009. The induction ceremony will take place at the Awards Banquet on October 22 at the Wisconsin Library Association Conference in Appleton. The seven inductees are Charles A. Bunge (1936- ), Matthew Simpson Dudgeon (1871-1949), Sarah Janice Kee (1908 -1998), Henry Eduard Legler (1861-1917), Klas August Linderfelt (1847-1900), Charles R. McCarthy (1873-1921), and Margaret Ellen Monroe (1914-2004).  Bunge will be the first living individual to be inducted into the Hall of Fame. Brief biographical information about the 2009 inductees is located on the Hall of Fame page of this website. Lengthier biographies can be seen by clicking on the names of the inductees above. The first ten individuals were inducted into the Hall of Fame in 2008. The Wisconsin Library Hall of Fame is a project of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center which is in turn a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation.


No comments made yet. Be the first to submit a comment

Leave your comment

Guest Saturday, August 17, 2019


Popular Tags

Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends World War I caly film presentations Bookmobiles Digital Collections campaign Rusk County Community Library Hall of Fame 2015 UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Peter G. Hamon Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Clarence Brown Lester Anniversaries COLAND Hall of Fame 2016 Soughton Public Library Bernard Schwab Cam Library people Postcards Events & Meetings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries 10 State Law Library William J. Wilson Larry T. Nix Hall of Fame 2018 Hall of Fame 2012 Suring Area Public Library Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services School of Library and Information Studies Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Beloit Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Brown County Library 22 Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries campaign Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin State Law Library Evansville Wisconsin Special libraries Nolan I. Neds Campaign WLA 125 Black River Falls WLA 125 cam Pewaukee Public Library Lucy E. Smith Morris Public libraries 21 Black River Falls Public Library bookworm UW-Madison school of library and information studies Elroy Public Library WWI Library War Service Frank Avery Hutchins DeForest Area Public Library Robert Bocher library exhibit Library Buildings 27 Wisconsin Library Bulletin Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee anniversaries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries J. D. Witter CCBC library memorabilia John J. Jax Charles Bunge Jerome P. Daniels Academic Librarians Events & Meetings WLA 125 McMillan Memorial Library 23 28 Helen Adams Events Hall of Fame 2009 Lutie Stearns WAAL Katharine MacDonald Jones trav American Library Association Hall of Fame 2015 Exhibits Public libraries Wisconsin Rapids Library people library legislation Ruby Roeder caly film Hartford Public Library 24 Hall Clinton Public Library WLA 125 Cornelia Marving Pierce T. B. Scott Free Public Library books-by-mail Lutie Eugenia Stearns Cooperative Children's Book Center Lowell W. Wilson Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Delia Ovitz WHCLIS Edward Asahel Birge Uncategorized library education Buttons Council on Library and Network Development Milwaukee Public Library Academic Libraries Wisconsin Federation of Women's Clubs Hall of Fame 2008 state historical society Hall of Fame 2018 Oshkosh Public Library Hall of Fame 2014 Sarah Janice Kee Postcards archives Campaign Jane K. Billings Capitol Fire 1904 James Huff Stout Anniversaries National Bookmobile Day campa Eratus Swift Wilcox Appleton Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 Bob Bochfer Wisconsin Library Association Centennial James Duane Doty Manitowoc Public Library People White House Conference on Library and Information Services Milwaukee Public Library Increase A. Lapham Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Library e Hall of Fame 2012 Brown Deer Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum ca Klaus Linderfelt Library People Wayne A. Wiegand Portage Public Library Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide UW-Milwaukee Libraries background traveling libraries Matthew S. Dudgeon I Love Libraries Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2013 Louise S. Robbins hall of Library Artifacts Gertrude Thurow Carnegie libraries Carl Spitzweg Meter mail slogans School libraries Marketing-Publicity Library Trustees Library Systems Hall of Fame 2011 Amer Historical Register Campaign Wisconsin Free Library Commission Eager Free Public Library Ice Storm buil Parcel post Hall of Fame 2017 Postcards Public library systems Postcards 20 S. Janice Kee Library celebrations Irene W. Newman Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2010 Brown Deer Public Library American Library Association Library War Service Middleton Public Library Pinback buttons Richard E. Krug Ripon Public Library Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Sandra Friedman Dolnick campaign Superior Carnegie Libraries Ruth Ann Montgomery caly film National Library Week Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Inform Wisconsin John Miller Chancellor Hall of Fame 2015 Dorothea M. Krause Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Tower Hill Wisconsin Gilbert H. Doane Beaver Dam Public Library Zona Gale Library History 14 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Publications Wisconsin Historical Society Woman's Congress membership libraries Gerald A. Somers 11 bed and breakfast Library Buidlings

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo