Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

Evansville Celebrates a Centennial

Posted by Larry Nix
Larry Nix
Larry Nix has not set their biography yet
User is currently offline
on Thursday, September 04, 2008
in Library buildings

A personalized stamp depicting the Eager Free Library in Evansville








The Eager Free Library in Evansville is one of several Wisconsin libraries celebrating significant anniversaries this year.  The building in which the Eager Free Library is housed is one hundred years old this year.  The architect for the building was the architectural firm of Claude and Starck which was responsible for the design of nearly forty libraries in the Midwest. The library's design was the first Prairie School design by Claude and Starck. Local merchant Almeron Eager bequeathed $10,000 for the contstruction of the building in 1902.  When finally completed in 1908 the cost was $16,000.  Ruth Ann Montgomery, a member of the Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Steering Committee, has written a history of the library for its centennial.

Other Wisconsin libraries celebrating anniversaries include the Milwaukee Public Library which is celebrating the the 130th anniversary of its founding and the 110 anniversary of its building; the Bloomington Public Library which is celebrating its centennial, the Black Earth Public Library which is celebrating its centennial; and the Independence Public Library which is also celebrating its centennial.

Tips of celebrating anniversaries can be found here.

Tags: Untagged


Popular Tags

Cornelia Marving Pierce Tower Hill Wisconsin background Anniversaries Publications Hall of Fame 2011 Wayne A. Wiegand 11 27 Soughton Public Library Library Buildings Hall of Fame 2015 21 books-by-mail Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Ripon Public Library Hall of Fame 2015 Superior Carnegie Libraries Hall of Fame 2012 Gerald A. Somers Cam anniversaries Pewaukee Public Library hall of WHCLIS Marketing-Publicity Oshkosh Public Library Special libraries Library people Postcards Cooperative Children's Book Center Uncategorized Charles Bunge Library Trustees 20 14 Wisconsin Free Library Commission UW-Madison school of library and information studies Clinton Public Library Nolan I. Neds Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Ruby Roeder Appleton Public Library Academic Libraries Hall fo Fame 2012 Richard E. Krug Public library systems Increase A. Lapham Anniversaries Eager Free Public Library Postcards Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Wisconsin Library Bulletin Ice Storm Hall of Fame 2012 School libraries Edward Asahel Birge Library Buidlings Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Library Systems Library e Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends 23 archives Eratus Swift Wilcox Klaus Linderfelt Hall Katharine MacDonald Jones Hall of Fame 2015 Louise S. Robbins 22 Hall of Fame 2013 Milwaukee Art Museum Events & Meetings Library History state historical society National Library Week Inform Wisconsin Events Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Lutie Eugenia Stearns Postcards Postcards Milwaukee Public Library Historical Register Hall of Fame 2017 McMillan Memorial Library caly film campaign National Bookmobile Day Meter mail slogans Black River Falls John Miller Chancellor Exhibits Parcel post Portage Public Library WLA 125 James Huff Stout campaign Delia Ovitz Gilbert H. Doane Hall of Fame 2015 Bookmobiles Library celebrations Carl Spitzweg White House Conference on Library and Information Services Campaign Wisconsin State Law Library Digital Collections Jerome P. Daniels American Library Association Zona Gale Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2016 Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Historical Society Wisconsin Free Library Commission Hall of Fame 2014 Orrilla Blackshear Wisconsin Rapids John J. Jax School of Library and Information Studies People Public libraries campa Campaign COLAND Hall of Fame 2015 Irene W. Newman Evansville Wisconsin trav Middleton Public Library membership libraries Brown Deer Public Library library exhibit Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends James Duane Doty Woman's Congress Suring Area Public Library Elroy Public Library Library Artifacts Matthew S. Dudgeon Sandra Friedman Dolnick World War I WAAL Carnegie libraries Sarah Janice Kee buil Council on Library and Network Development Wilbur Lyle Eberhart Beloit Public Library presentations American Library Association Library War Service Library people DeForest Area Public Library 28 library memorabilia I Love Libraries Frank Avery Hutchins library education WLA 125 bookworm Rusk County Community Library T. B. Scott Free Public Library Wisconsin Library Association Centennial Black River Falls Public Library 10 Beaver Dam Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Buttons 24 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide Academic Librarians Brown County Library Milwaukee Public Library bed and breakfast CCBC WWI Library War Service Bernard Schwab Dianne McAfee Hopkins Campaign caly film Dorothea M. Krause Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Amer William J. Wilson Madison Public Library Hall of Fame 2010 Peter G. Hamon State Law Library library legislation Larry T. Nix Clarence Brown Lester ca Jane K. Billings Hartford Public Library Capitol Fire 1904 Lutie Stearns Hall of Fame 2012 campaign Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Public libraries cam Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians caly film Pinback buttons Library People UW-Milwaukee Libraries Brown Deer Public Library WLA 125 Lowell W. Wilson WLA 125 J. D. Witter Hall of Fame 2008 Ruth Ann Montgomery Hall of Fame 2009 S. Janice Kee Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Gertrude Thurow Events & Meetings traveling libraries

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo