Wisconsin Library Heritage Center

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation promoting understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin.

About WLHC

The Wisconsin Library Heritage Center (WLHC) is a program of the Wisconsin Library Association Foundation (WLAF) and was established for the following purposes:

  • To promote an understanding and appreciation of the history of libraries and librarianship in Wisconsin by the general public and the Wisconsin library community.
  • To promote the preservation of artifacts and archives which contribute to an understanding and appreciation of Wisconsin’s library heritage.
  • To promote research and publishing which contribute to an understanding and appreciation of Wisconsin’s library heritage.

The WLHC was established on March 19, 2008 by action of the WLAF Board based on a report 


submitted by the WLHC Steering Committee.

Steering Committee Members

Paul Nelson, Chair
Retired Librarian and
Adjunct Assistant Professor 
School of Library and Information Studies 
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Middleton, WI
Janis Berg, Library Director 
DeForest Area Public Library
DeForest, WI
Mary Clark 
Product Manager, Resource Sharing
Auto-Graphics, Inc.
Madison, WI

James Gollata, Director Emeritus
Miller Memorial Library, UW-Richland (Richland Center)
Manitowoc, WI

Ruth Ann Montgomery, Retired Director
Arrowhead Library System (Janesville)
Evansville, WI

Steven Platteter 
System Director
Arrowhead Library System
Milton, WI

Louise S. Robbins, Ph.D., Professor Emeritus
School of Library and Information Studies 
University of Wisconsin-Madison
Madison, WI


Popular Tags

Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Exhibits Library celebrations Hall of Fame 2010 Wisconsin State Law Library 24 library legislation School of Library and Information Studies anniversaries Library Buildings Campaing for Wisconsin Libraries Wisconsin Free Library Commission T. B. Scott Free Public Library Appleton Public Library membership libraries UW-Madison school of library and information studies state historical society Amer 20 10 Wisconsin Literary Travel Guide World War I Pinback buttons Campaign campa Public library systems Increase A. Lapham Sarah Janice Kee Wilbur Lyle Eberhart 22 Charles Bunge UW-Milwaukee Libraries Events Historical Register Jerome P. Daniels Digital Collections I Love Libraries White House Conference on Library and Information Services Wisconsin State Normal School-Milwaukee Hall of Fame 2013 library memorabilia Hall of Fame 2012 Special libraries Pewaukee Public Library Ripon Public Library Larry T. Nix Council on Library and Network Development Suring Area Public Library bed and breakfast 23 caly film School libraries Library Trustees Library people Frank Avery Hutchins WLA 125 Wayne A. Wiegand CCBC Hall of Fame 2015 Wisconsin Library Heritage Center Anniversaries National Bookmobile Day presentations Wisconsin Free Library Commission background Elroy Public Library Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Superior Carnegie Libraries People Gerald A. Somers Zona Gale trav Inform Wisconsin Library Artifacts Library History caly film Hall of Fame 2015 William J. Wilson Wisconsin Library Bulletin Portage Public Library Ice Storm Capitol Fire 1904 Cam Hall of Fame 2015 Soughton Public Library library education Carl Spitzweg Parcel post Jane K. Billings Lutie Stearns campaign Public libraries Wisconsin Library Association Carnegie libraries hall of Lutie Eugenia Stearns Eager Free Public Library Buttons Katharine MacDonald Jones S. Janice Kee Klaus Linderfelt Bernard Schwab Library People bookworm WWI Library War Service Cooperative Children's Book Center campaign cam J. D. Witter Library people Postcards Beaver Dam Public Library Manitowoc Public Library Hall of Fame 2012 COLAND Academic Librarians UW-Milwaukee School of Information Studies Meter mail slogans 11 Milwaukee Public Library Brown Deer Public Library Nolan I. Neds Uncategorized Woman's Congress Rusk County Community Library James Duane Doty Peter G. Hamon Events & Meetings Publications Milwaukee Public Library WLA 125 Library Buidlings Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries Hall of Fame 2015 Gertrude Thurow Dianne McAfee Hopkins 21 Hall of Fame 2016 Wisconsin Library Trustees and Friends Wisconsin Rapids traveling libraries Hall of Fame 2011 Beloit Public Library Hall fo Fame 2012 Hall of Fame 2015 Richard E. Krug Centennial Hall of Fame 2009 Delia Ovitz National Library Week Eratus Swift Wilcox Association of Library Trustees Advocates and Friends Public libraries 27 Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries American Library Association Library War Service Postcards Matthew S. Dudgeon library exhibit 14 Brown County Library Marketing-Publicity 28 Postcards Irene W. Newman Evansville Wisconsin WLA 125 Hall of Fame 2014 Cornelia Marving Pierce Library Systems Edward Asahel Birge Brown Deer Public Library WHCLIS Academic Libraries caly film Bookmobiles Hartford Public Library Clarence Brown Lester James Huff Stout Tower Hill Wisconsin Madison Public Library Dorothea M. Krause Hall of Fame 2008 Ruth Ann Montgomery Black River Falls Postcards WLA 125 McMillan Memorial Library Wisconsin Association of Academic Librarians Wisconsin Historical Society Middleton Public Library Marjorie Sornson Malmberg Anniversaries Kimberly-Little Chute Public Library Campaign Events & Meetings State Law Library John Miller Chancellor American Library Association Orrilla Blackshear Hall campaign Clinton Public Library Milwaukee Art Museum Governor's Conference on Library and Information Services Hall of Fame 2012 archives Black River Falls Public Library WAAL buil Oshkosh Public Library Gilbert H. Doane books-by-mail Library e Campaign ca Campaign for Wisconsin Libraries DeForest Area Public Library

Wisconsin Library Association Foundation Logo